My reviews (165)

Gingerbread Pancakes

A wonderfully different pancake recipe. These pancakes are flavoured with ginger, cinnamon and black treacle. They are perfect for breakfast, brunch or dessert.
Reviews (165)


20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I read through the reviews very carefully before making this, which I think was my first mistake. I usually don't do that and fly by the seat of my shorts. I doubled the recipe so I could freeze some for busy mornings, added more baking powder for a fluffier pancake, doubled the spices and added nutmeg and allspice and I cut the water down to two cups, as a lot of people mentioned that the batter was way too wet. My pancakes were pretty thick and fluffy but they were a pain to cook. The spices I doubled and added were perfect, it's just that maybe cutting back the liquid to two cups was too much? Next time, I'll cut it back only a half cup and I think it might be perfect. It really does need the extra baking powder for a fluffier pancake. That being said, tasty pancake. Even with my flub-up's, this recipe made 15 large pancakes when doubled. Out of the 15, I had three leftover. My boys loved them. I had a small bite of one and thought it was mighty tasty. My son actually remarked that "these are the best pancakes EVER, Mom".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2010
Reviewed by: Elmira
Very good recipe. I didn't have molasses, so I substituted it with 3 Tbsp firmly packed brown sugar. My husband loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Becki Sue
Delicious gingerbread taste. Smelled and tasted amazing. The only reason that this is not a 5 star recipe is because they came out a little flat. I like my pancakes a little fluffier. I'll keep the spices, vanilla and molasses and try to alter the recipe for a fluffier result next time. Will definitely keep working on this recipe though, because it was a hit with my ginger-living husband!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Elinor
Doubled recipe, reduced water by 1/2 cup overall and added a pinch more spices. These were great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Foodie Family
not bad, i added 2 TBSP of brown sugar and another 1/2 tsp of baking powder. made the house smell like christmas morning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: Gailleet
everyone loved them!!!! These were fantastic, I followed the recipe exactly
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: hcorianne
Followed recipe exactly. Batter is way too thin, and the pancakes are very thin too. Sorry, though the taste is good, the pancakes look awful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: SUDEMERS
didn't change the recipe..all the kids could say was these are the best. We like thin pancakes so thats great. Not fluffy..Perfect thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: iceemama
I have never had gingerbread pancakes before but these were pretty good. After cooking the first one, my son and I decided they weren't spicy enough for our taste. We added extra cinnamon and ginger. I would do 1 tsp. ginger and 2 tsp. cinnamon next time. We also don't like syrup so added about 1/3 cup granulated sugar after tasting the first one. They were good but I had some trouble with them sticking to my pan.I normally don't have that problem. We topped with whipped cream and they were yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Danielle Lockley
I did this the lazy way by using a cup and a half of pancake mix and then adding the recommended amount of spices, molasses and vanilla then just adding water until it reached my preferred consistency. Delicious! If you have pancake mix save yourself the trouble of mixing the dry ingredients and just use that instead. Doing it this way will also fix the problems that some reviewers were having with the pancakes not being fluffy or thick enough... If it's too thin just add a little more pancake mix - too thick? Add a little more water. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches