My reviews (12)

Venison and mushroom stew

A simple, yet delicious venison stew. Venison is slowly simmered with mushrooms, white wine and seasoning in a beef stock. The resulting venison is meltingly tender and succulent. Serve with mashed potatoes or rice.
Reviews (12)


05 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Kristalyn
This recipe is awesome. I always run out of ways to cook venison, which is why I chose this and I'm glad I did. I had to change a few minor things just for lack of ingredients in the household. First, I used about 1/2 a yellow onion instead of the green onion and onion powder. Instead of beef broth, I used a little more than two cups of water, along with 3 beef boullion cubes. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic when browning the venison. It was perfect with mashed potatoes. In case you don't have white wine, a dry red would work also, just with different results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: GAHSMOMX3
Loved this! the only thing i changed was to use diced garlic instead of powder. THe key ingredient to this dish is the wine;it tenderizes the venison. thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: recipes need gluten
nice sauce for deer tenderloins. Very tasty and it did not overpower the meat with too many additional flavours. Thanks for the recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Sue
I am NOT the biggest fan of venison, it's too gamey for my tastes, but this was very tasty! I had to use what I had in the house, so I used beef bouillion and water instead of beef broth and canned mushrooms instead of fresh. I had some leftover venison tenderloin and added enough venison butterfly steaks from the freezer to make a pound. I kept the amounts of everything else the same and simmered on the stove for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. I thickened the extra sauce make a yummy gravy and served it over brown rice. Very tender! This recipe definitely is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Andrea
I changed the recipe a little bit. I took all of the ingredients called for and stuffed it in a crock pot. I turned it on low for the day. I did put regular garlic instead of the powder, and I added a little wine and broth since I was leaving it in the crock pot all day. It was good. It reminded me of pot roast a little bit. I served over potatos. Next time I am going to serve over wild rice as suggeseted by another reviewer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Joanie
I had never cooked venison before, and was not sure if I would even like it, but this recipe was awesome! I didn't simmer it for nearly as long as it suggested, and it still came out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Charcoal Grillmeister
This turns out almost like venison stew and I've gotten similar results with a lot less work. We used several different kinds of mushrooms which made it more interesting. Used Jacob's Creek Chard for the wine which was very good. We doubled the recipe and served over wild rice. Overall it was good but again, it takes more work and time than it's worth to us. I was somewhat disappointed after reading such great reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: KKSweatt
What a wonderful change from our usual fried venison. After we made this we gave the recipe to three different hunters in the family. It was absolutly fabulous. I added a little corn starch to thicken and served with some garlic mashed potatoes, yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa
This was sooo good! Thank you for sharing. I will use this one again. It will be a great recipe to make when we have guests that say they don't like venison. I can't imagine anyone not liking this! Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Lakelady
I've cooking venison for years. This is a tasty recipe and a keeper. Good enough for company. I just thicken up the sauce before serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches