My reviews (115)

Caprese Salad

The wonderful flavours of the Mediterranean are blended together in this salad. Ripe tomatoes are tossed with mozzarella, red onion, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and fresh basil. The perfect Italian starter or side dish.
Reviews (115)


12 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: TheBritishBaker
Simple recipe, few ingredients but looks good and tastes delicious
 
02 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Tomatoes and fresh basil are a classic combination! It doesn't get much better or much simpler that this - it's absolutely delicious! I decreased the onion and I probably could have left it out altogether. I plated this vs. tossing in all in a bowl. Plus, I NEVER chill it, but rather leave it at room temperature. It's so fresh and so good it could be a meal in and of itself! It's perfect with a a side a crusty Italian bread and a good wine. A definite crowd pleaser!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
N.J. is known for growing the tastiest tomatoes in the country and we all know never to refrigerate these red beauties, as they will lose their flavor. After combining the ingredients, including garlic, I just let the mixture sit on my counter to absorb all the wonderful flavors. Ten minutes before serving I added the cheese. Thanks so much Kathy for a great side!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
So Good!!! Using fresh picked tomatoes and basil from our garden really make this dish. A summer long favorite at lunch or dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: RussellC
Use fresh ingredients...especially the mozzerella, and seed the tomatoes so it's not a wet mess.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: TMoore
This was a great salad. I messed up and got shredded mozzarella without thinking, but it still turned out great! Rave reviews all around!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: LOUIEM
Extremely easy and very tasty. A nice side dish for a bacon-wrapped filet mignon. Thank you for sharing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2008
Reviewed by: April
Very good salad. I only rated a 4 because I changed it up a bit by adding a clove of minced fresh garlic and making the dressing using 3 parts extra virgin olive oil to 1 part of the balsamic vinegar. 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 oil makes it very tart and overpowering. Make sure the balsamic is the best you can buy, the older the better, the more syrupy it is, the better. Trader Joe's sells a very nice aged balsamic for less than $10 a bottle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: ERINMG1
Loved this! Easy Fast and Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: OnlineMom
Great, simple recipe - perfect in the Summer with grilled steaks or for a light lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches