My reviews (115)

Caprese Salad

The wonderful flavours of the Mediterranean are blended together in this salad. Ripe tomatoes are tossed with mozzarella, red onion, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and fresh basil. The perfect Italian starter or side dish.
Reviews (115)


04 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Meredith White Garner
Made it without the onions and love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Angie Fuller
Fresh mozzarella really does taste great, but if you're not planning on eating all of this in one sitting, you might want to consider using regular mozz. Fresh tends to break down a bit if it sits in the oil and vinegar for a long while.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: von
Loved this! Served it to company and they loved it. Leftovers were great next day. Next time I will use the mozzarella balls I've seen in store. They're an inch size and that would look good but the other fine too. Will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: CawsticCrow
Like a good wine, it tastes better with time. The first night the vinegar taste was a little too much; the next, the liquid had a mellowed sweetness. Sure the tomatoes are mushier, but it still tastes awesome. Definitely serve with bread to sop up sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: KarenLynn
Delicious! Just like an Italian Pizzeria we have locally. Just the restaurant here I added some olives to the side. Topped with sea salt & fresh ground pepper. Very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Marian
I had some extra fresh basil from another recipe this week and was trying to think of what I could make. I didn't want to slice tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil and lay them out in something time consuming and fancy for just us and so I found this recipe. I had some mozzarella in the fridge, but next time I will definitely use fresh mozzarella. i also used grape tomatoes as they were on sale and the dish was delicious. Never had it with balsamic before and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Lori
YUMMY! We ate this on Trader Joe's Asiago Cheese w/peppercorn sourdough bread......delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Judy Werner
This was wonderful. I had eaten this at an Italian restaurant and this one is better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 May 2007
Reviewed by: amydoll
Fabulous. Full of flavor. You could serve this with just about any meal. Make sure and splurge for the fresh mozzarella.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: AINSLEYSMOM
Excellent! So simple and easy to prepare and very eye appealing. Everyone loved this, even my father, who is a real meat and potatoes type of guy. I knew he liked it when he went for seconds! I thought there was a bit too much olive/vinegar mixture, I may reduce that next time but everyone loved dipping their garlic bread it in so it was OK.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches