My reviews (139)

Frosted Italian Cookies

These cookies are super-moist, this is because ricotta is added to the batter. The cookies are then frosted with a vanilla icing. They are delicious with a cuppa, for dessert or on their own.
Reviews (139)


02 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Erimess
I'm not much of a cookie person, but these were fabulous. I was trying to use up ricotta cheese and thought I'd chance something strange like putting it in a cookie. The cheese definitely added an interesting flavor, without being overly obvious. None of my family could figure out what was in them. I didn't bother with the frosting because they were good already and I thought that would ruin them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Elaine Mical
These delectable little morsels remind me of a childhood cookies made by an Italian neighbor.I've looked for a long time to find a recipe to match my memory,and I think this is it. I sprinkled the tops after icing with Non Pareils. Stored in an air tight container, the non parils soften and the cookie remains soft,moist and delicious. Great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Tricia Winterle Jaeger
These are good, cake-like, sugar-cookie-tasting cookies. I can't say I'd go out of my way to make these but if I ever have any leftover Ricotta again I'll be sure to make these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: PAM620
I only made these cookies because I was trying to use up some leftover ricotta cheese and I was very disappointed in these cookies. I think the flavoring should be lemon or almond to give it more kick. The cookies towards the end spread like crazy, so if I make these cookies again I will: Use a different flavoring, and chill the dough before I bake them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2011
Reviewed by: rlarose
These are the yummiest cookies I have ever tasted. Not too sugary sweet, but sooo creamy. I'm not of Italian descent, but these taste like something you'd find in an italian bakery. It must be the ricotta. Now I have an excuse to buy ricotta cheese! Try these, you will not regret it! They don't even need the icing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2009
Reviewed by: captcook
These cookies resemble an Italian cookie my mom makes..but these are better. I've made them twice now. They are easy to make, moist, and are a big hit. I separated the frosting into small batches and colored each batch a spring time color. I frosted them very lightly so as not to overpower this lightly flavored cookie. People liked them frosted and unfrosted, by the way. I always use parchment paper lightly sprayed with Pam when baking cookies. No pan clean-up! My Italian mom asked for the recipe..It's definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: dobbyrn
This cake-like cookie is just amazing! I've made them numerous times since Christmas with different sprinkles for each holiday. People rave and always want the recipe. I use a Tbsp. cookie scoop and I use a more buttery icing-with 1/2 cup butter, 3.5 c. powdered sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla and half and half as needed. Such a nice gift for new moms and dads.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: lavalady
These are light and tasty, but not what I expected after all the reviews. It really is more like a cake then a cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: STELLY
I mad ethese cookies for a wedding reception. Used lemon flavoring in the dough and lemon juice in the frosting. Very tender cookies that are delicate in texture. Lovely for something fancy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Mary
These are great! So easy to make. My brother had been asking me to make a cannoli cookie for him. He said he had it at a Brooklyn bakery but I could not find a recipe anywhere. After searching I made this and he said it was dead on! So yummy!! This is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches