My reviews (206)

Krunchy kale crisps

Kale is coated with oil, sherry vinegar and salt, then baked until crisp. They are light, crunchy and totally delicious. Try them instead of eating salt and vinegar crisps - see if you can stop yourself from eating the whole lot!
Reviews (206)


22 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: iragnw
I didn't have Sherry vinegar, just olive oil, salt and pepper. It turned out so good. Just make sure your kale is fully dry when you bake it, so it's not soggy when you took it out of the oven.
 
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: mcintyr1
I made these and they were good, but it was touchy getting them to cook without burning them. I just watched an episode of Jacques Pepin and he did kale chips, but he put them on a wire rack and baked them at 250 degrees for 20 minutes. I tried that the next time i made these and they were FANTASTIC.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Betty
After washing and thoroughly drying kale, I tore into small pieces and placed on cookie sheet. I sprayed with Pam olive oil and sprinkled sea salt over kale, baked in 350 degree oven for 9 minutes, then turned off the oven and left the kale in the oven to continue to crisp. This way it does not brown but stays a beautiful green and tastes delicious. You can keep it in the oven with the door closed for about an hour and it will be perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: stephmac
These were to die for. I used sesame oil and red wine vinegar instead, and only cooked them for about 5 mins in the oven. The kale was from my backyard and was so delicious. I couldn't stop eating them and finished the entire bowl. I can't wait until the kale grows more so I can do it again. GREAT recipe, thanks for sharing! I had always heard about kale chips but had never tried them, or kale before. Amazing way to use it. Do be careful with the cooking time b/c they can cook soo quickly. 5 mins was enough for me, if I left them in for 35 minutes I would have had nothing left but ashes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Melody
Fantastic! I used balsamic vinegar, because I thought I had sherry, but when I went to the cabinet-all out! Oh well. It came out so wonderful, anyways. The only thing bad about this recipe is that you have to be careful not to choke, because you will want to INHALE them! yum, I think I'm going to make another batch tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: BUGZNA2000
These are surprisingly delicious and a healthier alternative to regular chips. I used red wine vinegar and pink sea salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Becca
Not bad at all! I was cautiously optimistic about this recipe...it was only in the oven for about 20 minutes - and it came out nice and crispy. Next time I will probably tear the kale into larger pieces and check more frequently.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Catherine Downing
I don't like kale in general, but from now on, if I have to eat some, that's how I'm going to eat it. Check your chips before 35 min in the oven... I had 2 trays in the oven and my chips were ready in 20 min. Also, eat everything at once. The chips don't taste good the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: DocM
This recipe is simply perfect. You can simplify things by skipping the bags and just using your hands on the kale in a large bowl (as suggested). Any good vinegar will do. We used a Pinot vinegar and garlic sea salt. If you have trouble with timing, it means you need to buy a thermometer for your oven and start cooking at the proper temperature. 35 mins is EXACTLY right: any earlier and the texture and flavor will not be right, any longer and they will burn. In a single layer (which you want), a good sized bunch of Kale will take up two medium-large baking sheets. Finally, be SURE your kale is dry. If it isn't you will be steaming it rather than roasting it. If you don't have a salad spinner, do as I did and put the kale in a dish towel, grab all the corners, and swing it in a circular motion a la Pete Townshend. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Katherine
This is a fantastic recipe. You do have to be very careful that you don't over- or under-cook them. Also, make sure the kale is evenly spread out and is not clumped together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches