My reviews (40)

Italian Butter Biscuit Rings

These biscuits are buttery and delicious. A vanilla, sugar biscuit dough is formed into rings, baked and then glazed with a orange-flavoured icing. Perfect with a cuppa.
Reviews (40)


19 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: maryellen219
i have searched so long for these cookies. my motherinlaw died about 5 years ago and never got the recipe. it broke my daughers heart. yesterday i told her jeannine i think i found a recipe for nanas cookies and we both made them. as we were making them she said a prayer to her nana and said please nana help us with this. well when the cookies were done and we tasted them they tasted exactly like her cookies. my daugher started to cry and said mom i am so happy we found them. i have to thank u so much for this dream come true. my husband also said my god they taste just like moms cookies. i have to say thank you thank you for helping us with this. love jeannine and mary ellen
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2005
Was looking for a recipe like my husband's grandmother, and this was it!!! These are excellent and so easy to make...thank you for sharing! The only extra we do is to add a little anise extract to the icing, it makes them just perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
I rarely give any recipe 5 stars because I'm always trying to please 3 other picky family members, however my family LOVED these cookies. My son practically at a dozen by himself before I could get them to a cookie tray for Christmas eve. I sprinkled with red sugars. Will definately have these on my cookie trays from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SarahCooks
These were good. They were light and not too sweet. I added orange zest in the cookie batter as well(I just love orange zest!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: GourmetBabe
Excellent recipe --my italian boyfriend and his family devoured them. They are light and soft. I added 1 tsp almond extract, (next time I'll add 2 since I liked the flavor). I made them into knots and added colored sprinkles after dipping them in the glaze/frosting. Thanks for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Simplygourmet
I had searched high and low....asking every Italian friend I knew and no luck until I found Kathy's recipe...I can now stop looking. My spouse is a happy cookie monster. Thanks Kathy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Lisa K
This recipe was just okay for me. The next time I make it I'm going to try adding chocolate chips like Sonia did to add a bit more flavor to the cookie. I like the glaze, but it might be helpful to know that if you are going to sprinkle with colored sugars, do it one cookie at a time immediately after you dip them or the glaze may harden too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: Angie Hopkins
My husbands aunt has made these for years and everyone loves them....unfortunately her recipe was a little of this and a little of that...haha..and we never could duplicate them...I showed her this recipe...she had me add a hint of fresh lemon juice to the icing and a little more lemon juice to the batter and they were unbelievable.....I can't believe how good they are...I am so excited that I can now make these great cookies. Thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: tillierose
These ARE the best! They are a staple on our Christmas table every year. My Aunt passed this down from her family in Italy to me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: RUBY2
Great cookies. I also used orange rind, and only used 2 cups of icing sugar for the glaze. My grandma made something similar but rolled the dough to a longer length before forming the circles. As with most Italian cookies be prepared to spend some time in the kitchen!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches