My reviews (78)

Authentic spaghetti Bolognese

A simple, yet authentic Italian pasta dish. Homemade ragu is made with beef mince, tomatoes, mushrooms, beef stock and seasonings, then served on top of spaghetti.
Reviews (78)


21 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: gerard12
Delicious
 
04 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Sandraneylon
I have tried many different recipes for spag bol and this is my least favourite. I just didn't enjoy the flavours at all. I will stick to my own receipe in future.
 
15 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: DTSCEP
We vacationed in Italy this summer, and had meat sauce that was wonderful and very different from the typical American version; much more meaty with tomato used more as a seasoning. This recipe fulfilled my hopes of being much more like a true Italian meat sauce. It was outstanding and my family loved it! Even my 2 pickiest kiddos who have flatly refused to eat spaghetti in the past gobbled it up. I doubled the recipe, seasoned the meat with some Emeril's essence, added more garlic than called for. Also added a can of tomato sauce in place of one of the cans of beef broth(3 cans beef broth, 1 can tomato sauce). This is our new spaghetti recipe; we absolutely love it! If you like a meaty sauce, you should definitely try this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: gynnej
This sauce was terrific. I read most of the other reviews and I agree that it had more of a beefy flavor and that is what sets it apart from other spaghetti sauces. I used 2 cans of 14.5 oz beef broth because I couldn't find 10.5 oz cans and I also added a 15oz can of tomato sauce plus 1 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1/2 teaspoon of italian seasoning. I will be making this sauce in bigger batches in the future to freeze. I won't ever buy bottled sauce again. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: JBHERRON
AWESOME!!! My family wanted spaghetti tonight, but I dreaded the regular old tomato/marinara sauce. I am pregnant and could just hear the heartburn calling my name. I saw this recipe and made it according to instructions (no mushrooms though) and I am in love!!! It was great. The flavor was just right. Not too acidic. The kids liked it. Hubby liked it. I made a large batch and we are freezing the rest!!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: SNAKEATE
Loved having a beef style with no acidic tomato taste. simmering with the lid off for 2 hrs makes the sauce a perfect consistency. Family loves it
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
This was really good and a mild flavored sauce. Definitely not too tomatoey as some can be. My husband really liked it and asked that i make this one again. I used some dried celery and only a couple of T worth, canned portabella mushrooms, a can of tomato puree 10oz., and added a can of chicken broth as it was too thick after only 1 hour of simmering and it was all I had. I tossed in some corkscrew and rotini pasta and cooked it in the sauce adding broth as needed since I had everything pasta-wise BUT spaghetti on hand. It made sort of a pasta goulash that way and turned out really well. My diet conscious hubby even went back for seconds! Thanks for a great supper. UPDATE: 12.01.10 I made this again using fresh celery, fresh mint, and the tomato paste this time. I still used the canned portabella pieces. This knocked hubby's socks off once again! I used a large box/container of beef broth and then added a can of chicken after the first hour as it was too thick. AWESOME recipe! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: NICOLLEJ30
Not a big fan of this sauce. It tastes too beefy (due to the amount of beef broth added)...no real hearty tomato flavor to it at all. I was disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: ASTCLAIR1
I thought this was pretty good. It's very "beefy" tasting and has a sort of rustic quality to it. It doesn't sport a bold tomato flavor. I almost feel like it would greatly benefit from adding some more herbs and crushed garlic about 15 minutes before it's completly finshed cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: DEBBIE BACKRAK
This recipe is definitely a main stay. I added a half a pound of Italian sausage along with the ground beef, omitted the dried mint, because I couldn't find any. Kid tested positive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches