My reviews (30)

Buttery root vegetable bake

This winter vegetable casserole is jam-packed full of flavour. Swedes, parsnips and potatoes are mashed with butter, then topped with caramelised onions and baked until golden. Serve as a side for Sunday lunch or Christmas dinner.
Reviews (30)


08 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: SANDRAMAC
I served this with a thyme and rosemary seasoned pork roast last night. I scaled it to four servings, as we are a small family. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. My husband, who always said he "hates" rutabagas and parsnips, loved this recipe. He went back for thirds! My mother-in-law also loved this, and I will definitely make this again. Peeling all the vegetables was worth the effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: JEWELBC
I made this for Thanksgiving thinking it was rather risky because the potatoes would be "different." What a pleasant surprise! Even the kids loved the slightly different flavor and the potatoes were devoured. I made a double batch, so I sat down in front of the TV the night before and peeled my heart out. That's the only drawback, those nasty rutabaga and turnip skins. Buts it's worth it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Marilee
Was looking for a different mashed potato recipe to serve with our annual New Years Eve Lamb roast and found this one. It was perfect. The only changes I made was to cut back on the butter and instead added a little of the leftover broth to the mashed vegetables. I also sauteed the onion in mostly olive oil with a tablespoon of butter. Just Hubby and I and we loved this, but I plan to make a big batch for my next family potluck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: naples34102
This was an experiment, not just for us but also for the dinner guest we had this evening – something I would never recommend doing! I got so lucky on this! We didn’t just tolerate this, or even just like it. This was a real hit – for all of us. Fairly even amounts of the potato, rutabaga and parsnips ensured that each would contribute to create a new flavor all its own - and oh, what a wonderful flavor it was. The “icing on the cake” was the caramelized onions on the top. What a rich and lovely finish, but you MUST let them cook slowly for a good, long time until they truly are golden brown and caramelized. I half-heartedly made this as an alternative to mashed potatoes with our roast beef and gravy dinner tonight. While the entire dinner was perfect and delicious, this side dish single-handedly took my dinner from JUST delicious to exquisite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: EUROMOM98
I served this last night with steak. I think everyone liked it ok, but no one raved about it. I used potatoes,parsnips,and turnips. Was a little pesky to peel everything, but otherwise easy and I did make it ahead and reheat it. I still think it is a nice fall sidedish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Cathietay
I scaled the recipe to suit the smaller number I was cooking for. I have made it a couple of times and think it is a great fall/winter dish - a change from 'mashed potatoes again!'. Haven't made ahead yet but have used lefovers as a topping on shepards pie delish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: CDANGER
I was really excited about trying this one for a twist at Thanksgiving. The taste was okay, but the chunks of rutabaga were rock hard even after cooking and it was stringy. Nobody ate it, so I won't be making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: reyhook
A great recipe with that distinctive taste of rutabaga. Instead of the parsnips, my wife substituted carrots. Fantastic results. The added flavor and texture of the carrots made it an instant favorite. With the carmelized onions on top and baked till piping hot; it make a great dish to accompany main course such saugage, pork loin, lamb,; etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: julia
I have made this dish for Thanksgiving now four years in a row so I thought it might be time to write a review. My mother-in-law always specifically asks me in advance about whether I am going to make this because she has come to look forward to it. One of our guests this year said it was the best thing on her plate. The parsnips and rutabaga give the potatoes a sweet/savory twist that is really tasty--different but not too different. This year I spaced out and boiled the vegetables in water instead of broth, and it was still as good as ever, so if necessary, you can omit the broth, I think. Caramelized onions really can't be beat, and in this dish they compliment the flavor perfectly. I caramelized a huge vidalia onion this year and it was awesome. I think that this recipe deserves to be a popular favorite.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: JBOBIER
little less parsnip, little less rutabaga, little less chicken broth, little more potato...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches