My reviews (8)

Herby chicken and vegetable soup

A low fat chicken soup that's not only easy to make, but also tastes fantastic. Chicken is simmered with herbs, sweetcorn, broccoli, celery and green pepper in a chicken stock. An excellent soup to keep you warm throughout the winter.
Reviews (8)


26 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: chris0902
Contrary to what another reviewer stated, this is NOT a healthy soup. way too much sodium, any recipe with buillion cubes is NOT healthy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: KEZ
Quite good but needs a bit of adjustment. I followed the recipe exactly and for us it was a bit too salty and I didn't add any extra salt. Also it's not the prettiest soup. My husband and I enjoyed it though I just need to work out how to reduce the salt content without losing the flavour. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
I made this recipe as part of a soup and salad supper (served with Italian Bread from a Bread Machine). The soup itself is tasty, but (as pointed out by another reviewer) it's not that pretty. Although I did cook it for the recommended time, I didn't add the broccoli until the last half hour. I added a handful of frozen peas and carrots that needed using. If I make this again, I would cook the chicken separately (or just use leftover chicken) and throw it in near the end. Cooking the chicken from a raw state is part of what makes it "not so pretty" - the length of cooking time is the other. This soup could do with a much shorter cooking time. I did add additional boullion for a little more flavor. I also used frozen mixed peppers because I had them on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jax's Mom
Delicious! I was concerned the spices would be strong and I am happy to report I was wrong. I love garlic so I added an extra clove. This is great recipe to use up whatever veggies you have in your fridge or freezer. I used red instead of green peppers and added green zucchini that I sliced into round slices and cut each into quarters. I also has an open can of chicken broth that I used in conjunction with the water and bouillon cubes. Will definitely be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: cookinitup2009
I made this one afternoon and loved it! Instead of the chicken cubes I used chicken broth and then half the amount of water, thanks for a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Sharon M.
I'm glad I chose to ignore the negative reviews and try this recipe. It was great. Very tasty and simple to make. I added some extra garlic and mixed frozen veggies instead of just corn. Perfect for a cold, snowy day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: HYTAIL
Wonderful!!!! A healthy, delicious soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: michelle
I altered this recipe a bit & enjoyed it thoroughly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches