My reviews (45)

Butter Parsley Orzo

This pasta dish is quick and easy to make, low budget and delicious! Orzo is tossed with sweetcorn, peas, mushrooms, butter and chopped flat leaf parsley.
Reviews (45)


30 May 2014
Reviewed by: KateL45
Loved this and so easy to make.
 
25 May 2008
Reviewed by: dizzygrltoo
MESSAGE FROM THE AUTHOR HERE: Your orzo will need to cook for close to 10 minutes for it not to be hard. Test it as you go if you want to until you are comfortable cooking this style of pasta. The editors changed my orignal direction slightly on this point.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
Beautiful, fresh and delicious--the perfect side dish. I used a specialty "Spring Medley" orzo, and eliminated both the onion powder and corn. Served with "Tenderloin with Herb Sauce" and "Green Beans with Almonds," also from this site, this was the perfect complement, with a subtle balance of flavors and colorful presentation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 May 2008
Reviewed by: luv2cook
Very good side dish. I love the combination of vegetables with the orzo. However, the orzo was too al dente for me, so I added a cup of water with a dissolved chicken bouillon cube to the finished dish and cooked until the liquid was absorbed, and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Cathym
I turned this into a main dish by doubling the recipe and adding chicken breast sauteed in fresh garlic and olive oil. Omitted butter and sauteed mushrooms with the chicken. I also added a little more garlic when I added the pasta and vegetables. I use a whole wheat orzo. We really enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: New Cook
This is my go-to favorite side dish (and sometimes the main dish!). My husband and I love this dish, but I always add a lot of garlic and garlic salt to season it. So tasty and SO SO SO easy to make
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Emily Tisdale
This really caught my eye...but of course I had to tweak a little. Instead of buttter I used evoo and toasted the orzo before adding the mushrooms. Used 1 cup of green peas as I don't care for corn. Hubby took one look at the dish and said "I'm not eating that!" Well...at the supper table when it was obvious how good it was he took a spoonful and declared "this is delicious!". Guess that says it all
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: starving collegian
Excellent as a side dish. I was expecting to make an entree out of this, so I was a bit surprised to have it turn out on the bland side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CINDY18LOU
Tasty, appealing to the eye, and so easy. My 5 and 3 y.o. liked it, too. Sprinkled some parmesan on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: 2obies
This was my first orzo attempt and it was delicious. I did not deviate from the recipe. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches