My reviews (319)

Perfect Prawn Cocktail

A delicious starter, which always goes down well at dinner parties. Prawns are tossed with a seasoned tomato sauce and topped with chopped avocado.
Reviews (319)


23 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: jessitlv
I adjusted this recipe to use 6 pounds of shrimp for a crowd. I bought cooked, peeled small salad shrimp and they were just the right size. Since I was feeding a crowd of Mexican's for my husband's birthday I really wanted this to turn out perfect. Everyone loved it, I got great reviews. The horseradish was my "secret ingredient", but I didn't use as much as the recipe called for. I served this coktel de camaron in pretty see through glasses with tostadas and saltines. Also, don't add the avocado until serving time, slice it up and lay it on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Bonsai
Wonderful! I substituted ketchup and tomato clam juice for SPICY V8 juice and straight clam juice. I also added a TON of finely chopped fresh celery and double the avacato (adding it right at serving time)so we could use crackers for dipping. This was such a huge hit that my wife took the leftovers to her staff meeting the next day and now I have to send it weekly to her staff meeting. Thank you for the fantastic recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: robertb
I think Ms. Zeigler nailed this recipe. I've had this dish in Mexico and all over Texas and this recipe is right on with one exception, it needs a finely minced jalapeno (to taste). I also add mroe avocado, but that's not the way you usually get it in the restaurants.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2008
Reviewed by: Erica Fleischhans
This was really good...although I did make a few additions. I added cucumber and a whole lot more clamato juice. I also added a splash of tequila for flavor. Turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2006
Reviewed by: LORIPRIT
I usually don't rate recipes, I just save my favorites. This recipe is so awesome thoguh, I loved it. Couldn't tell enough people about it. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
The flavor was good but like others, I felt it was too soupy. I used Bill's Seasoned Ketchup (from this site) & decreased the hot sauce accordingly. I have had this before at a restaurant & think I'll play around w/ it some & see if I can't get it closer to what I was expecting. Next time,I think I'll add just a bit of tequila ( I know that was in the one I had @ the rsetaurant) & maybe decrease the clamato (the clam juice in it adds lots of flavor so I won't omit it entirely) & add a bit of tomato paste to thicken things up some. Might be nice w/ some diced tomatoes too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: DollyPerl
Eat this for breakfast on Sunday mornings, it is the BEST cure for a hangover!! I omit the avocado because I don't care for it and also the horseradish because it is not part of Mexican cuisine; although I imagine it is quite good for those who like horseradish. Serve it with a spoon in those tall parfait glasses for ice cream because it is meant to be eaten like a soup and not a dip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Dgoodcookr
Excellent Party appetizer. I wouldn't change a thing. I served this to my husband and some guests who were completely skeptical. They all came back begging for seconds. Looks great served in large Margarita glasses with fresh shrimp (not the marinated ones) hanging off the rim.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: nicole26
This was absolutely awesome! I love shrimp and mexican, and had this cold shrimp avacado soup at an "authentic" mexican resteraunt a while back and have wanted to try to make something similar. This was very close if not better. I used large 16 shrimp per pound black tiger shrimp and it was well worth the $! Serve chilled over tortilla chips, saltines or alone. Thank you for my new favorite recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: lisalisa
Really good. My husband and I have enjoyed this recipe several times already this summer since it makes such a tasty, chilled treat. I used spicy V8 juice, too, and added a diced tomato and cucumber. Thanks for this recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches