My reviews (48)

Beef and broccoli Thai noodle stir fry

This is a popular Thai noodle dish also known as pad see ew. Rice noodles are stir-fried with beef steak and broccoli in a dark soy sauce. It's the perfect meal for lunch or dinner.
Reviews (48)


17 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: CurlieQ
If you're reading this recipe and thinking "eh, I don't know. Sounds kinda weird..." Try it! I'd never had pad see ew before, and I was a little worried about the "ew" part. IT'S SO GOOD! Beef & broccoli meets pad thai! Fish sauce and oyster sauce aren't as nasty as they sound, and you can get them super cheap ($1/bottle) at an Asian grocer. I added rice vinegar and doubled the sauce (2 Tbsp rice vinegar, 6 Tbsp oyster sauce, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. Used a whole good sized crown of broccoli. Used "round sandwich steak" which is already cut thin. No salt, just some black pepper. Try it, you'll like it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Wiser1
Yum.. doubled sauce.. don't think it was necessary.. did add 2 tb. of rice vinegar.. a little sesame oil upon plating.. used chicken .. added waterchesnuts.. very diverse recipe...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: squawk93
Pad See Ew is one of my teenage daughter's favorite dishes, so I have set out to learn how to make it. I used this recipe as a jumping off point, following it mainly for the ingredient proportions. Instead of beef I used chicken, and gai lan instead of broccoli. I also found some fresh rice noodles at an Asian market (see photo). I used the sauce ingredients as listed, but added 1 T rice vinegar. Technique-wise I stir fried the broccoli and set it aside. Then I stir fried the chicken, added the noodles, then the sauce. Once they were heated through I added the beaten egg. When the egg was cooked I folded in the broccoli. It turned out well, and my daughter approved (she ate 2 servings!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2014
Reviewed by: CHEF CLAY
This is an Americanized version of a wonderful dish. There are important ingredients missing here and some extra steps that are not necessary. The water and cornstarch slurry is not needed. If you use brown sugar in place of white and do not use to much soy and other sauces a nice sauce will emerge in the end. Also no need to pre cook the broccoli, simply stir fry it the let it simmer in the sauce while meat cooks. Also no need for another extra dirty pan with cooking the egg, just push all ingredient aside while still stir frying and add egg too wok and quickly scramble in same pan. Also, where is the fresh cilantro to toss in at the end and the traditional thai chili sauce? A lot of extra work and missing ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 May 2012
Reviewed by: icarus5
This is a good recipe. I used chicken instead of beef, and thin slices of asparagus instead of broccoli. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a bit of sesame seed oil and rice wine vinegar. I also added a heaping teaspoon of prepared asian chili sauce to the liquid ingredients. At the end, I put in chopped scallions and a bunch of thai basil. The end result was delicious, but you do need an extremely hot pan and lots of oil...I used a combination of grapeseed oil and coconut oil...oils that can withstand a very high heat. I also have an induction range and put it at the power setting, which is hotter than most conventional settings can get. This high heat is what sears the noodles and gives the dish that distinct flavor. I would omit the cornstarch altogether next time since the high heat and starches from the noodles absorbs all the liquid. I've tried a similar recipe but w/o the high heat and adding chicken broth as a way to keep the noodles from sticking to the pan. This did not turn out. The trick here is to use a seasoned pan, extremely high heat and lots of oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: rando
great flavor! 1 cup of broccoli is not enough, though. 3 is about right. I made it without the beef.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Lempreza
This recipe tasted authentic and straight from a restaurant. I used black pepper instead of white pepper because I couldn't find any at the store I went to. I also used New York Sirloin Steak. It also needed to be a bit sweeter so I through in about 3 tbsp of brown sugar while I mixed everything together towards the end. Overall, great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Maribel Hicks
Love this reciope. Taste just like my fav resturant makes it. I use shrimp or pork instead of beef. And sub the brocooli with Gai Lan when I can find it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: ItFigures
So easy my boyfriend made it! 4.5 stars!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Serena
I was very disappointed. There are other stir-frys on the site that are much better. The oyster sauce was overpowering for me, definitely cut in half as another reviewer had suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches