My reviews (21)

Prawn Avocado Cocktail

A simple, but delectable twist to the traditional prawn cocktail. Prawns and avocado are tossed in seafood sauce, then served with a wedge of lime and tortilla chips. It's the perfect starter to any dinner party.
Reviews (21)


03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: 23DAISYS
I loved the idea of this recipe, but wanted it to come out a bit chunkier and not so much like a dip, so I added another extra avocado, chunked largely and only about 1/4 cup of the cocktail sauce. Also, a little fresh ground pepper. I served in martini glasses with extra shrimp garnishing the side of the glass. It turned out beautifully and tasted incredible.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: SunFlower
Great base but a little bland as is. Add lime juice, salt and pepper and you'll get a terrific appetizer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jennbott
I substituted salad shrimp for large shrimp, which made it easier to scoop up. Also with fresh lime juice, and salt and white pepper as suggested. I took it to a party, and it was the first thing gone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Cathleen
I made a slight change to the sauce. I used 1/4 cup of mayo, 1/4 cup of cocktail sauce, 1/4 cup of chili sauce, and the hot sauce listed in the recipe. I coated the shrimp and avacado with the mix (I did not use all of it - add according to your tastes), and then piled the "salad" onto toasted rolls for a sandwich. It was fantastic! Some of us added a thin slice of cheese. This was quick and easy and light for the summer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2008
Reviewed by: Hilarie A.
I made this for a Cinco de Mayo party & as a side for a light summer meal. I've shared the recipe with some friends & our advice is to add a little more hot sauce, lime juice, and some celery for some crunch. I used 2 avocados & twice the shrimp; otherwise the cocktail sauce is a little overpowering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Dr. Cyndi
Awesome dip! Few changes... I used med. shrimp that I cut in half, two avocados, and like others, used mayo, cocktail sauce and chili sauce instead of all cocktail sauce. I plan to make again next week for a luncheon at work. Thanks for a great idea!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: kbez
thought this was good start however I added chopped roma tomato and not as much bottled coctail sauce. Really liked the touch of hot pepper sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Wendy Likly-Welch
was good, but too sweet with the bottled seafood sauce.Instead, next time I will use low-sodium/low sugar ketchup and a Tbsp. of prepared horseradish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: lisasamm
I used sweet chili heat sauce instead of cocktail sauce. This was a huge hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Dani
This was really yummy! The bottle of cocktail sauce at the store was only 8.5 oz and that was plenty. I chopped the shrimp into small pieces (about the same size as the avocado) and served with "scoops" chips. Everyone raved.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches