My reviews (36)

Pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting

These treats are moist, tender and delicious. A lightly spiced pumpkin cake batter is baked, then topped with a cream cheese frosting. Serve for dessert, afternoon tea, elevenses or pop into packed lunches.
Reviews (36)


06 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Cynthia Lusby Donelson
Use a jelly roll pan and bake at same temp/same time for a more "bar" like result. Still very moist and chewy this way. To make this a "finger food", cut into 2x2 squares to serve. I only had 2 eggs on hand and it didn't alter the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: EVON203
The most moist cake I have ever baked. Everyone loves it. Frost the cake and then cut in to bars. Too moist and soft to frost after you cut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: missy
This is a good recipe, but like other reviewers suggest, it is a cake, not a bar. The cooking time is incorrect also, it takes much longer than the time stated. I cooked mine for about 55 minutes and it turned out to be a really light fluffy cake. Also in addition to the 2 tsp cinnamon I added about 1/4 tsp cloves, some nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. The taste was great. Overall, we enjoyed it, it is tasty, just not a bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: BJSCHADE
This is a great recipe! My family has made this exact recipe for years. Co-workers can't wait for fall just so I will make these bars and bring them to work. I do not like pumpkin pie, put I love these bars and the frosting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: LMHILL
I really liked this...it was more like a cake than bars. It was big and fluffy, and even more so with the cream cheese frosting. Everyone at Thanksgiving liked it. I had to increase my oven temperature by 25 degrees and bake an additional 20 minutes over the original recipe instructions but that didn't bother me. I also liked it because I already had all the ingredients in my pantry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Becky Monarch
These were a big hit with my family. Easy to make using common ingredients. My oven cooks on the hot side, so I didnt have to adjust the bake time at all. I also made muffins from this recipe by reducing the bake time to 19 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: FrankiAndPaul
We call this Pumpkin Bread and make it for breakfast. Pumpkin is loaded with Beta Caratene which converts to Vitamin A. So, it is great for the eyes. The kids love it. I altered the recipe to make it healthier-low cholesterol & low fat. I use 8 egg whites since I am allergic to egg yolks. I substitute apple sauce for the oil, use wheat flour instead of white flour, and use honey instead of white sugar. I add 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, & 1/4 teaspoon cloves. After it is in the pan I sprinkle generously with pumpkin pie spice on the top. I leave off the cream cheese icing because it is sweet enough without it. This makes a great fall breakfast dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JDALFRED
I first had these pumkin bars when I stopped in at an amish bakery in Northern Michigan, and my niece and I fell in love with these cookies. When I got home I searched the net for the recipe and found this one and it was just as sweet, we love 'em
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: KSUGRRRL
these are always a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: SONNYBLUEONE
This is a great alternative to pumpkin pie, a nice way to keep up with the traditonal holiday pumpkin with a whole different flavor. Everyone loved it, including myself who doesnt even like pumpkin!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches