My reviews (168)

Fruit and nut pumpkin loaf cake

A gorgeously spiced pumpkin loaf cake is dotted with cranberries and walnuts. You could use almost any combination of dried fruits and nuts in this recipe. Feel free to halve the sugar if you prefer a less sweet cake.
Reviews (168)


24 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: AUNT MAMIE
This was great. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I used one cup of pumpkin puree. I added 1/2 cup sweetened flaked coconut--a great addition that my family liked. One Tbsp. of pumpkin pie spice is equivalent to: 1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 3/4 tsp. ginger, 3/8 tsp. cloves and 3/8 tsp. nutmeg. Thank you, Linda!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: IMP70
I've been making this same recipe for years. I always use fresh cranberries (which I keep in the freezer and add directly to the batter) and substitute applesauce for half-to-all of the oil. It still comes out moist, just a little less heavy. I love this bread!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: greentea
I had to bake this bread two different times -- my first loaf had a thick, doughy texture (probably because I only baked it for 60 minutes). My second time, I still used one 9x5 in. pan and baked it for 1 hr. and a half, and it came out perfect. I also added 2 tsps. of vanilla extract and an extra egg. For the 2 c. sugar, I used 1 c. white and 1 light brown. The taste is excellent! If you use only one 9x5 pan, you might have to cover the top with foil to prevent overbrowning.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: junebug
I just loved this bread! I did use fresh cranberries, which I rough-chopped in the food processor, and I did add a little more spice (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.) Also, I added 1/4 cup applesauce. The recipe yielded 2 (8x4) loaves, and 2 mini loaves. I just delivered my 2 larger loaves to the neighbors for a Thanksgiving treat! My husband and I treated ourselves to a mini-loaf, first...and it was wonderful!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: DMSKYBA
LOVE this bread. I used freesh pumpkin from our fall pumpkins. SOOOO good. The one thing I would say is you would want to sift the dry ingrediants or be sure to mix it up really well so there are no lumps of flour. I found that with the first batch the lumps of flour never blended into the bread while it cooked and I ended up with a few dry lumps of flour in the baked bread. I like to bake extra and slice it up to freeze individual pieces to be taken out when ever I just want a nibble to enjoy with a cup of coffee.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: NANCY VECE
I've never cooked with cranberries before and was skeptical about making this, but it turned out wonderful. It's moist, not too sweet, a perfect bread with coffee or tea. I used 2 cups of fresh cranberries and baked it for 55 minutes. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: SHELLYRAE00
This bread was very good; moist and not too sweet. I used fresh, rather than dried cranberries because that's what I had. Next time I'll use more cranberries. I'll bet using 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar would make this recipe even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: MADISONLIBERTY
This is SOOO good! I love this stuff! I'll be adding this one to my recipe file. I got 5 mini loaves out of the recipe and baked them for 40 minutes. Thank you so much for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: hjjmac
This was a really good base recipe. When I first used it I was pretty inexperienced in pumpkin bread, but have since made dozens of loaves and learned a lot! First, I much, MUCH prefer to use fresh pumpkin puree than canned. You just cannot get the same fresh flavor from a can and, really, it's not that much more work. I highly recommend using fresh/frozen cranberries which have been roughly chopped for a really nice, tart bite of flavor in every mouthful. For most loaves I either reduce or omit the oil and add instead either apple sauce, sour cream, plain yogurt or a combo of two of those things. We like spicy bread so we add quite a bit more pumpkin pie spice and a bit more cinnamon as well. I replace half the white sugar with brown. If you change ONLY one thing, use fresh/frozen cranberries! So yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: LoveTo Bake
This pumpkin bread was good, but not the best. I've made tastier loaves. I think I prefer fresh cranberries over the dried ones used in this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches