My reviews (17)

Pumpkin cream profiteroles

An elegant and delicious twist to the classic profiteroles. A creamy pumpkin filling is used to fill choux pastry puffs. These make a decadent dessert for any dinner party.
Reviews (17)


11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Marg
Made per recipe. 2 c. of cream is way 2 much. U will have so much filling. This is why 4 stars. Don't like sweet desserts but I recom. another 1/4-1/2 c. more of P.Sugar to be added IF using the 2c. of cream. Used 15 oz of Libby's 100% pure pumpkin. U can adjust pumpkin to your taste. Next time I will use 1 c. H. cream, 1/2 c. P.sugar & adjust pumpkin to my taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: ej_ahn
Thank you for such a lovely recipe! I made the cream puffs with another recipe I used previously for strawberry cream puffs, but the pumpkin filling was a roaring success at my sister's birthday party! The cream filling had the delicious essence of pumpkin and was the perfect autumn dessert. I will definitely try it again in the future, and I'll try the cream puff recipe too! Super easy recipe that yields lots of adoring fans!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Kari Blaisdell Simons
Am I the only person on this site that can't make a cream puff? I tried 3 times and ALL of my batches looked beautiful in the oven, then I poked the hole and they slowly collapsed even with my efforts to poke holes at various times in the baking process, letting them cool slower, did the cream puff good luck dance.....what am I doing wrong???? My goodness, what's the trick? UPDATE: I looked online and found a recipe very similar. It called to bake 45-50 minutes until a deep golden brown and dry. I finally got one batch to work using this method. I only lost one in this batch. Finally!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: GRANDMAHOLMES
Very attractive for the holidays. The filling could use a bit more powdered sugar; maybe even a cup. The puffs are very easy and could be used for multiple fillings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: megmackenzie
The puffs came out much better when I used salted butter instead of unsalted. The pinch of salt that it calls for doesn't do much and it's nice to have the slight saltiness to balance the sweet filling. For the filling, I found a whole can of pumpkin puree to be to heavy. I used half of the can and it kept the filling lighter and more "whip cream" like. What a lovely treat these cream puffs are!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LABSARE4ME
This is a good basic recipe. The pumpkin flavor in the middle was very slight so next time I would add the whole can of pumpkin. I also topped them with a spiced cream cheese glaze. I will trya chocolate glaze in the future.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Dragngirle
Used saved pumpkin from jack-o-lanterns which I had pureed. Great way to use that left over pumpkin up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Francie S
I have made cream puffs for years and used a recipe just like this. I use a smaller amount of dough for each puff and it makes 24-25. I bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes then let cool completely. I decided to try pumpkin this year and I bought the Libby's pumpkin pie mix in the can with the spices and sweetness already added. I mixed 1 1/2C pumpkin pie puree with 6oz. of cream cheese. In a separate bowl, I whipped the heavy whipping cream with 1T. of vanilla and 1/4 cup granulated sugar until stiff peaks formed. Then I folded the pumpkin/cream cheese into the whipped cream. Then I filled the puff pastry. I also put a dab of the filling on the top of the puffed pastry with a roasted pecan piece.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Janet Shum
These were very DELICIOUS! They could use a little more sugar. Other than that, perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: bwm522
made these and OMG..THEY ARE WAY OUT OF THIS WORLD!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches