My reviews (362)

Pumpkin Crumble Sponge Cake

This cake is loved by adults and children. A sponge cake layer is topped with pumpkin pie filling and a crumble mix. Serve with ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream.
Reviews (362)


01 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: sweetcakes
This cake deserves more than 5 stars. This cake is the "BOMB". I added spices to my cake, like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and allspice just because I alway's doctor up anything I make with pumpkin. I took it to a christmas party and it was a hit, everyone wanted the recipe by the end of the night. I brought the new French Vanilla cool whip to my friend's house who had the party and they all loved that too. They both went great toghether. OH and one last thing, I strongly recommend doubling the filling amount or the cake will be thin especially in a 9X13 pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: kim
I just returned from a Pumpkin Fest at church in which I entered this recipe into the recipe contest and won first place! I made it in a springform pan and added 10 extra minutes to the cook time. I also found adding the nuts to the crumb mixture made them set very well into the cake! I saved one piece for myself and now look forward to enjoying it with a cold glass of milk on this beautiful fall evening!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: JENROSASCO
This is a great cake. It is more like a cake/pie....the perfect combination! The recipe does not quite fill a 9x13 pan so I used a round spring form pan. Had to cook it a bit longer because it was thicker. It looked really nice out of the pan because you could see the layers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Kikki55
I have made this recipe many, many times already and it's only been a month since I saw it. My family and friends have asked me to bring it every time we get together and at least 2 people will ask me for the recipe every time I bring it some where. People who don't like pumpkin pie tell me that they love this recipe. I will tell you that I substitute the 1 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon for 1/4 tsp. each of ginger, allspice, nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon. I also cut down the butter and the white sugar. I only use 2/3 of a stick of butter for the bottom crust and use the rest for the top instead of using a whole stick for the bottom and almost a half of a stick for the top. I also cut the sugar down to a little under the 1/2 mark.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Mary F
My mother gave me a similar recipe 25 years ago and I have been making it for Thanksgiving every year since then. Our filling recipe varies slightly in ingredients. Mine has 1 15 oz can pumpkin, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 2 eggs, 1 cup evaporated milk. This makes it more like true pumpkin pie in the middle. Also, when putting the first layer in the pan, pat the bottom slightly higher on the sides to help keep the pumpkin filling in place.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Bridget Moore
The longer they sat, the better they tasted. Will definitely make again. I did use an 8x8 pan because the recipe wasn't large enough to fill a 9x13. The layers looked great when they were cut into bars. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: BARBIE0492
My family gave this a thumbs up! We are trying pumpkin desserts each weekend before Thanksgiving and this one was their favorite! Excellent!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Mrs. T
Yummy! Although the topping was a bit too sweet for me. I think that i will use half of the sugar in the topping.Oh, and definitely use the 9x13 pan. I used the 8x8 pan and had to bake for twice as long! I know it doesn't seem to be able to fill the pan, but it expands a lot as it cooks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: PATTON0626
I made this for my husband and the guys in his office and it was a huge hit! I have made it several times and find that it tastes better chilled. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: AMIJAY
I made dinner for about a dozen people and served this for dessert, and it was a huge hit! My roommate borrowed the recipe and made it again just a week later. I accidentally omitted the 1/4 cup of brown sugar and it turned out fine - it was sweet enough that I don't think I will put it in next time I make the dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches