My reviews (19)

Roast beetroots, apples and fennel

This side dish has the perfect balance of flavours and textures. Earthy beetroots, sweet apples and fragrant fennel are tossed with a honey mustard dressing, then roasted to perfection. It's great with roasted chicken, turkey or pork. Try it at your next Sunday lunch or Christmas dinner.
Reviews (19)


17 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: VerredevinDee
Loved this Angelina! Will definately make again. We live in France and I couldn't find the dressing so I made it with a rough teaspoon of Dijon mustard a large squirt of honey and it worked very well. Thank you
 
20 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: BenevolentEmpress
Husband loved it, I thought it was just ok. I rated this four stars for the ingredients, but it really deserves only three for execution. The combination of fennel, beets and apples along with the honey dijon is really, really good. Unfortunately, because beets and fennel are both very dense, the cooking time is way underestimated. Mine needed 15 minutes in the microwave after 45 minutes in a 450 degree oven. The last 15 minutes in the oven would never have cut it. I recommend either microwaving for 10-15 minutes, then roasting at 450 (not 400) for one hour, and/or slicing the beets and fennel rather thinly (don't quarter the beets) and leave the apples in quarters. Also, I would add an extra dollop of honey dijon dressing or mustard; after the long cooking time the vinegar in the dressing, plus the added vinegar, become the dominant taste. Finally, for ease of preparation, I placed the cut vegetables/fruit in a large ziploc bag, then coated them with the dressing and other ingredients, then turned them out into the roasting pan.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Mimi Sardini
Gave it four stars because of the ingredients... after reading the other reviews, modified and it came out superb! Sliced the beets and the fennels, cut the apples in small wedges, salt, peppered, used olive oil then I covered and baked for 45 minutes. Uncovered and browned for 15 and tossed it with the dijon mustard dressing last. Will add this to my company repertoire! A beautiful looking dish, sorry I didn't take a picture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Mona Grenier
"A winner!" was what my boyfriend said. I made the Honey Mustard Dressing I from this site minus the mayonnaise and used that in this recipe. I still have to get the roasting technique down, I tried cutting the beets and fennel very small but still ended up with slightly underdone beets and applesauce. I might try adding the beets first next time, then the fennel, and finally the apples to get them all done at the same time. Would have been a good idea to save some of the dressing for the end, will do it next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Alda
I do love the beets, apple and fennel combination, however, i left out the extra vinegar and boiled the beets first. To keep the apples from turning into complete mush, I used 3 granny smith and 2 gala (bigger chunks) and the fennel was thinly sliced. You can also substitute balsamic vinegar and add a little dijon mustard to that and skip the dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: staci
This is delicious! Make sure to cut the beets and fennel into smaller chunks than the apples. I added crumbled feta cheese to mine after serving...a great layer of flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: trollmother
although the flavors marry beautifully, the texture wasn't pleasing to me. the beets were deliciously tender, but the apples turned to mush, and were contrasted by the slightly crunchy fennel. I made this for a family get-together, and no one liked it. i gave it a two, because i think i can work on this to make it work.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ellen_in_Ohio
I wasn't crazy about this. Used the tips from previous reviewers about cutting into smaller pieces and adding the dijon mustard dressing at the end. Found the taste to be a little strange and the beet juice colored everything else so it didn't look as nice as I'd expected. Probably won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
I wish I had taken a photo. This dish is delicious and beautiful. This is a great addition to any summer or fall party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Robyn
Yery tasty and colourful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches