My reviews (19)

Roast beetroots, apples and fennel

This side dish has the perfect balance of flavours and textures. Earthy beetroots, sweet apples and fragrant fennel are tossed with a honey mustard dressing, then roasted to perfection. It's great with roasted chicken, turkey or pork. Try it at your next Sunday lunch or Christmas dinner.
Reviews (19)


13 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Ashi Meessir
it was okay...not all that great. my oven kinda killed it i think, the apples and the fennal dried. the ingredents seemed good but perhaps a difrent cooking methood would do well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Scad
This a delicious dish. The beets definitely need longer than 1 hour to soften. I roasted the beets for 40 minutes before combining everything and tossing. I also pre-cooked the sliced fennel for 20 minutes. I made my own honey-dijon vinaigrette and replaced the dressing, olive oil and red cider vinegar with my dressing. I loved it. The fennel tasted amazing and next time I will add more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Diane
I substituted an onion for the fennel, because that was in the cupboard. I cut the beets much smaller than the apples and onion. Cooked in an aluminum foil pan at the recommended temperature and time. It was very, very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: dave h.
This was quite good. I cut my racquetball ball-sized beets into eighths instead of quarters. I cut medium-sized pink lady apples into 8 pieces and sliced them crosswise so they were pretty good-sized chunks. I ran the oven at 425 for about 35-40 minutes. Everything came out great. I would do it again for sure. I probably would use less oil in my dijon dressing, but I was eyeballing a lot of that stuff.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Betsy Barbera
I added rutabaga to the beets, fennel and apples. Everyone loved it. Would definitely make it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Stacy W
After reading others' reviews, I added the apples after the beets and fennel had roasted about 40 minutes. I will be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Peter Breyfogle
Cut the beets a little smaller then quarter. Don't panic, it really get a lot more done in the last 15 minutes. Apple cut size depends if you want it to show up as an independent ingredient or blend into the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Warren Westlund
I am fascinated by the flavors! I did read many other reviews first, and altered the recipe a little. I added essentially, completely roasted beets and the apples for the last 15 minutes. The fennel bulb needed the full hour to soften. I also added 1/2 cup of white wine to the mustard and honey (stone ground mustard), and added half of that before roasting and half afterwards. Yum! Update: I also added a single clementine to each serving. VERY GOOD!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: T-Retz
We loved the taste, but not the texture and certainly not the clean-up. I used the original recipe, unfortunately without reading the helpful reviews. I agree with other reviews that the beets take much longer to cook and the apples less. I definitely plan to cook again, but will partially cook the beets first and oil the pan! With a little work, this can be an excellent dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches