My reviews (19)

The Perfect Martini

A wonderfully cool and refreshing cocktail that will perk up your day. Dry vermouth is shaken with ice and gin, then garnished with a pimento stuffed green olive.
Reviews (19)


03 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: BILLY B HILLBILLY
Everybody has their own opinion on what they consider a "perfect" martini. I'm actually not that picky as long as it's not too watered-down. I would call this recipe very nearly perfect. I usually swirl my martini (in the shaker) until my fingers start to freeze, which might be a little less than 30 seconds. If there is any left in the shaker, I pour it into a spare glass, so it doesn't get too watered-down with melting ice. Lately, I've been using anchovy-stuffed olives which I find quite delightful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Linda Mendez
Being a retired Bartender,I was happy to see a great Martini recipe that's made with Gin! As of late, Martini's almost always have been made with vodka. I do love your Martini recipe but even more I love to change it into a gibson & add a few cocktail onions,now that's a great drink! Good job on all of your classic's. Someone really did do their homework! Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: KAEMARIE
Oooohh, Shaggy! I've always wanted to order a martini, as I like gin, but feared the disappointment. So I made your recipe, just to test drive this baby, and I'm in LOVE! Can't verify its perfection, however, since I haven't had much experience. But I gave this five stars on its own merits. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: FPOST3776
I'm an 80 year old martini lover. The oldest recipes were two parts vermouth to one part gin, I prefer four parts gin to one of vermouth and I prefer Noilly Prat over Martini-Rossi or Boisierre. Any good gin will do. some say the name came because it was first served at an inn in Martinez, California. Others think it was named for the fine and powerful British Army Rifle, the Martini. The Martini rifle had a powerful "kick" and so does a good Martini cocktail. This recipe is 8 to 1 and a bit drier than I like, but it is a good one. If you like this, try a bit more vermouth at least once. Ask me about my cousin Elizabeth's choice of vermouth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: GrillLover
To make it even more "perfect", don't shake it, just stirr slowly. Shaking infuses air into the drink and changes it's flavor (bruises the gin?). As a long time "shaker" I found could really tell the difference when this was pointed out to me years ago by a barkeeper in Manhattan. Just try it. James Bond was just plain wrong (but we knew that when he chose vodka over gin).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: george9
As near perfect as you can get.Garnish with two olives stuffed with Jalapeno.OOOOOOOO SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOD.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Auldjaded
Classic cocktail! A Gin martini is the only true martini, no? This is a near perfect ratio gin to vermouth, but I do like my martini a little "dirty"...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: nannyvana
A true classic. One hint i have is to keep your gin in the freezer. Fabulous!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 May 2008
Reviewed by: JANVANCAN
It has to be dry to be good. The only change I make is that I use a lemon twist instead of the olive. Or sometimes, a pickled onion, to make a Gibson.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: amber
I've never actually ordered a martini in a bar, but I love a strong drink and gin! This was very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches