My reviews (61)

Hot buttered rum

This is a simple, yet delectable alcoholic drink. It will warm the cockles of your heart, even on the coldest of winter days. Butter, sugar, rum, ice cream, spices and hot water are stirred together in a mug.
Reviews (61)


03 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: snap-hiss
It's the middle of summer, but I thought I'd try this anyway. I was a bit skeptical on the ingredients list, but the butter goes really well with the rum, and the nutmeg works nicely with it too.
 
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: MandaSteelers1Fan
Several months ago before you posted this as a recipe, I asked if anyone had a Buttered Rum recipe in the exchange. You were kind enough to write the entire recipe out on my post. I tried it, I loved it and now I'm happy to see that I can rate it. I realized you posted it when I went to review your awesome shrimp salsa. Please WW, keep the recipes coming! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I think I'm coming down with a cold so I was looking for a warm drink with a little kick that might help this sore throat and general icky feeling I have. I didn't have creme brulee flavored ice cream but I did have Ben and Jerry's cinnamon roll ice cream so I used that. Otherwise, I kept it to the recipe only using Captain Morgan's spiced rum because that was all I had on hand. This was awesome. I'm actually getting ready to make another one right now!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Ron
Whether or not it keeps colds away - who cares!!!! What a flavour - calories be d**ned!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: pgnlady
Yum, yum, yum!!! Love it. I used Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum and Vanilla Rum coffee creamer instead of icecream. It turned out fantastic, will definantly be making another one!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2011
Reeeeeealy nice night cap with the hubs! Made his with lactose free vanilla ice cream and a little caramel topping. Both were delicious! Thanks Laurrie for a great recipe! Cheers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah-May
This should be double cup hot buttered rum. There is no way I could drink just one of these. Fantastic recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: lisa_sean
Yummy. weathered turned cold and I was looking for a something to warm me and this was the perfect drink. I used coffee ice cream and that does the trick too. I suggest trying different flavors of ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Curious Baking Mom
This tastes great so I gave it 5 stars, but I almost gave it four since I changed things... I found the finished drink to be too small and weak so I doubled it and then added an extra shot (that way it fit my cup ;]). I also used all brown sugar and vanilla ice cream, and whisky instead of rum. Can't wait to share the recipe and try ti with hot apple juice instead of water! Thanks for sharing with us!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: LoveNCyprus
Hmmm, well Ive never had hot buttered rum before this, but I find it very watery as is. The second time I tried it, I used hot milk instead of water, which was much better. I guess that's not very *authentic*, but the hot apple juice alternative that people have mentioned sounds terrible. I suppose I should try it anyway before I give up on hot buttered rum altogether... Added later: Forget water or apple juice. Use hot coffee!!! Mmmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches