My reviews (62)

Baked Butternut Squash with Apple

This is a fantastic autumn dish. Butternut squash is baked with apples, butter, light brown soft sugar and seasonings. Enjoy as a side dish. It goes well with roasted meats.
Reviews (62)


16 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: KIKA9133
I always, always get rave reviews when I make this dish for company. My family loves it too, including my picky kids! Instead of mace, I add 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg and I never use anything but Granny Smith apples. This one is definately a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: Traci
The mixture for this squash is wonderful but there is not enough of it. Also it is a bear to clean the dish you cook it in. I would make again without the apples and double the mix and coat the pan. Great flavor in the surgar mix!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: FOXHUNTER
Not quite a five star but more than a four. I used about a 1/4 t allspice, 1/4 t nutmeg, and 1/2 t cinnamon to replace mace. Next time, I think I'll cube the squash to get better mixing with the apples. I don't know why it said to sprinkle the spice mix. It was like a thick sauce that had to be spread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LADYBUG742
I also altered this recipe a bit by using nutmeg instead of mace. I also had some boneless chicken breast, which I partially cooked first, and laid on top of the squash/apple/spice mix. My son said DO NOT throw away this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: MARY-MAGS
What an easy treat...the hardest part is being the squash. I actually goofed and mixed everything together but it still tasted delish! Also, sprinkled toasted almonds on top to add some crunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: SunnySoCal
So easy to make ! I used Butternut Squash, and basic red apples (whichever red apple that was on sale at the market). A trick to easily peel a butternut, is to boil it (whole) in radily boiling water for 4 minutes, remove from water, let cool, and then the skin peels of easly with a potatoes peeler. Trick: The blanching softens the peel, and makes for easy peeling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: JuiceMom
much too sweet for my family. My children thought they were having dessert for supper so that made them pretty happy! I like the combo of apples and squash, but I'll cut the sugar in 1/2 next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: KEGGER317
Delicious! The apples add nice flavor; I used cinnamon, fresh nutmeg and allspice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Flying A
I have been making this recipe for more years than I care to admit! It is in my Betty Crocker Cookbook I have had since 1976. I always make this for the holiday's dinners. Some of my family think sweet potato's must be covered in marshmellow (yuck!) I use less sugar, depending on the tartness of the apples. No mace, just cinnamon. I have also used curry powder, most yummy and nice mid year change from the cinnamon. Also, I don't melt the butter, I just put pieces of butter on top. Best of all this can be put together the day before, store in fridge and simply let come to room temp before placing in the oven. Even the kids will eat it with the apples. Enjoy-
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Sandra Hylton Kemp
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made it for Canadian Thanksgiving and everyone was extremely impressed...most everyone present asked for the recipe and there were no leftovers. A truly wonderful alternative to candied yams and much more interesting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches