My reviews (66)

Quick Chicken Chilli

This chilli dish is quick and easy to make. Chicken is simmered with cannellini beans in a spicy chicken stock. Serve with rice, corn bread or a jacket potato.
Reviews (66)


26 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Renee Ridgeway
HOLY GUACAMOLE!!! I read the reviews before making this and believed that the addition of the sour cream would tone down the mega heat from all the spices. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THIS ADVICE! We really enjoy hot and spicy foods but this was WAY TOO HOT! I did eat it and I did finish it, but it was a bit painful to do. The spices got to my sinuses and my nose was running so much that I went through 7 tissues during dinner. And the ceiling fan that was keeping us nice & cool seemed as if it was no longer functioning. We had sweat dripping from us by the time we were through. The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because it does have potential. I will try it again, but I'll cut back on the cayenne by at least half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: OTTERCOON
This was great! We really enjoyed it. BUT because we value our health and sanity, we did NOT follow the spices as called for. I added 1 1/2 T. cumin, 2 T. chili powder, and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. The first two are variable, but the second needs that reduction. This is a keeper!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: gourmetchick
Everyone in my family loved this! Even my three picky children who "don't like beans!" I cut the cyanne pepper to 1/4 tsp, used black beans and used fat free sour cream. I also cut up boneless skinless chicken breast and cooked it with the broth, chili's and spices in the crockpot, one hour before serving I added black beans, and 15 min before serving I added the sour cream. WE LOVED THIS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: shackbart
Great chili! The seasonings in the recipe do need to be adjusted though... be sure to read the other reviews for modifications.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: BLUEGYPSY21
Excellent - although I did follow the advice of so many others before me and cut back on the spices. I used 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp chili powder, and 1 tsp cayenne pepper. PERECT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Lynette Sullivan
Very nice chicken chili! I made this because I didn't have time for mine - it was easy! I halved the red pepper and still found it quite hot, but good! I added two cans stewed tomatoes and a can of drained corn.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Emily Rahn Stephens
I found it to have too much cumin
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: sweetpea
This chili is delicious!! The only reason I rated 4 stars rather than 5 is because I have to reduce the cumin to 2 tbsp and the cayenne to about 1 1/2 tsp. My husband and I both love spicy foods and 2 tbsp cayenne pepper is EXTREMELY spicy!! Other than that, I follow the recpipe and it is great with cornbread. It has become a family favorite..and its quick and easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Julie Kelly Robbins
I couldn't believe how spicey this was!! Tried adding more chicken broth and some milk but could not eat. I also choked and had tears running down my face. It would be alot less spicey without the green chilis.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 May 2010
Reviewed by: APRILSS
VERY yummy, but SPICY! I didn't have any sour cream, but i'll be adding some before we reheat the leftovers! We used this to spoon over chips and made plates of chicken chili nachos.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches