My reviews (66)

Quick Chicken Chilli

This chilli dish is quick and easy to make. Chicken is simmered with cannellini beans in a spicy chicken stock. Serve with rice, corn bread or a jacket potato.
Reviews (66)


05 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Myra Frady Champion
Way too much spice. I added Mac and cheese and made it more like chil-Mac. The only reason I gave 3 stars was bc my 2 year old liked it. But she tends to like spice. I omitted the cayenne pepper all together and added more broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: AJBOULANGER
I always read reviews, so I knew to cut down on the spices. The chili is more of a white chili when the cayenne is cut down. It is a pretty easy recipe. Since it's only us 2, HALVED the recipe. Did not have green chilis, so I used half of a good-sized poblano and fried it with the onion. Cut up 1 and 1/2 chicken breasts (left over from last night's dinner). Used 1 T cumin, 1 T chili powder and 1/2 tsp cayenne. Broiled a slice of Colby Jack on top of each of the 3 bowls it made. I'm a wimp about heat, and it was spicy but good to me. My man from Texas thought it was perfect. Will save this one! Ty
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: lilaynia
quick, easy and delious. I, myself would cut back on the heat. I added crumbled corn chips after shredding the cheese on top. My husband says "it's a keeper."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Ashley
I make this ALL the time now! It is fantastic. I do however, cut back on the red pepper. It was WAY to hot with all of it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Stacey Michelitch
My family loved this recipe. The only thing I changed was the amount of spice in the chili. I have 2 young children, so I have to be careful with spices. My husband said it was awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: janinne
My husband and kids both loved this recipe. I also did not put in as much spices as the recipe called for. I added more sour cream and some refried beans to thicken it up a bit. My husband asked me to double it next time so he can have some more leftovers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: islandmom26
All I can say is - Thank goodness for reviews! I am so glad I listened to other reviews and cut down on the spices, especially the cayenne. Could be a typo, maybe the recipe should call for 2 tsp. instead of 2 tbsp., but we found it to be perfect when the amount was cut in half, and we REALLY like spicy food. Otherwise this is an excellent chili, and extremely easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Gayle
I love this recipe because you can keep everything on hand and it is so easy. It's great to use left over roasted chicken from the deli too. I cut WAY back on the cayenne pepper and chilli powder too. I use less that half of what it calls for. Way too hot with all the seasonings
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Adrienne Monson
I love this recipe. It really is too easy. Especially when you have the rotiserrie chicken. I just reduce some of the spices, I have a two year old. My REALLY picky husband gave it a 10 out of 10. He wishes that I would crank up the heat though! Crazy man. Thanks for such a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: jrb
Very good and very easy! The sour cream gives this chili a velvety smooth texture. I used Rotisserie chicken, which saved even more time. Definitely a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches