My reviews (53)

Garlic Ginger Tofu

This easy, braised tofu dish is great served with steamed rice and vegetables for an easy vegan weeknight meal.
Reviews (53)


18 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Jem8000
Tasty
 
23 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: pieppiep
Had this with ramen and stir-fried vegetables, was nice but did soak up a lot of oil!
 
16 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: missusjen
The tofu took in a lot of oil during cooking, but then it went with a stir fry and I use very little oil in that, so it worked really well...
 
17 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Kate Young
We love this in my house. I think I have it memorized, I make it so much. I use 1 lb of tofu since there's only two of us, and add 3 tsps garlic. I also use ground ginger because it tastes the same as fresh (I made it with fresh ginger the first time I made it.) and I always have it on hand.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Mortiferouslatte
I make something alot like this. Instead we drain the tofu, cube it, heat the pan and add some olive oil, then sautéed the tofu for about twenty minutes, when its 5 minutes from being finished i add low sodium soy sauce about 2 inches or more of fresh ginger (i love ginger thats prob. too much for most ppl)and minced garlic and cook it for the last 5 mins. I always eat it over jasmine rice. Its a very similar recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: RANDI5
This was great! I added sesame seeds for some additional flavor, and stir-fried veggies in the sauce that was left in the wok. I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2008
Reviewed by: t_jones
pretty bland as is , you really need to pan fry the tofu with onion then add carrots and some mushrooms. I then added chicken broth with some corn startch and had a great sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Mrs Possum 08
This is a great recipe for beginners like me. I had never cooked with tofu before and found this dish easy to prepare and delicious. I topped the dish with fresh spring onion and also the dry fried version found at Asian grocery stores. Thanks for posting this recipe. I'll definitely prepare this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Kalex
We enjoyed this but it was a little bland at first. I added some garlic powder, extra tamari and about a tablespoon of peanut butter during the last 10 minutes of cooking. I think this helped make it a little more flavorful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: LizNix
We really liked this recipe. I used 1 lb. of tofu since there are only 2 of us. I used ground ginger and I added some honey (diluted in hot water) towards the end. Mixed with sauteed veggies over sushi rice - Yum! It heats up really well, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches