My reviews (12)

Gran's focaccia with tomato and anchovies

I finally got to make my gran's focaccia when I found the recipe. It brought back so many fond memories. The dough is made with potatoes, then topped with tomatoes, thinly sliced onion and anchovies before it is baked. Very Italian and very delicious!
Reviews (12)


14 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: AMCONTE2000
I made this recipe for my family and they love it. Even my father loves it, and it's hard to please my father when it comes to food. I wouldn't change a thing the recipe works well...Love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: sharon
Everyone loved this recipe. My husband was not sure about focaccia but when he tasted it he was hooked. Dough was light and delicious. Not a fan of anchovies so just left them off. Ate one immediately and froze one for later. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 May 2008
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This was soooooooo good! It looked, smelled and tasted like something from a top notch Mediterranean restaurant. I made it two days in a row; the second time, I added some chopped garlic along with the tomatoes, onion and anchovies. Absolutely amazing! Thanks so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Chef Al
Great recipe DJK1125. The only thing I did was made a starter or "bambino" set that aside, made the dough, let it develop a bit then added the starter. I also placed it in a retarder overnight and baked it the next day with amazing results. Great crumb, perfect crust. Your Grandma knew what she was doing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: karen
I halfed this recipe and made a pizza out of it. Our family loved it. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: COOKIN4MYFAMILY
The amount of flour in this recipe was way off for me. I don't know if it would be possible to use 2 POUNDS (approx. 8 cups) of flour + 4 riced potatoes + only 1 cup of water and get this to work? I used considerably less flour (about 4 3/4 cups or 21.4 ounces). I drained off 2/3 cup tomato juice before putting the crushed tomatoes on the focaccia. I would recommend slightly less salt. The recipe says to let this cool to room temperature before cutting and serving, but it is much better warm. There could be an improvement upon using plain, cold crushed canned tomatoes as the topping...maybe simmer the crushed tomatoes with garlic and/or onion before adding the oregano. The crust turned out crisp on the outside and chewy inside, but there are simpler & tastier recipes that get the same result.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: DIEM
Excellent. I did not use any of the topping except I drizzled some olive oil with some rosemarry then baked it. I just wanted a plain focaccia to make sandwiches out of it. The bread is wonderful tasting. Because of the potatoes, it gives it a chewy and moist texture. The crust is chewy but crispy at the same time. I was able to half the recipe. I love this bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Amanda Abbott
very good with soups!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: KYRAROSE3
I made this recipe for my family and they love it. Even my father loves it, and it's hard to please my father when it comes to food. I wouldn't change a thing the recipe works well...Love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
11 Nov 2018
Reviewed by: ROCKANROLL
This Gramma enjoyed making it and her family enjoyed eating it
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches