My reviews (17)

Gluten free Victoria sponge

A simple recipe that is pretty much undetectable as gluten free. Try it see if any one realises. It rises better than the normal cake too.
Reviews (17)


11 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Lueymcdoey
I made this today for my Mum's birthday, she is gluten intolerant. It really was delicious! Everyone said it was delicious and I will definitely be making it many more times now I have found a great recipe. I made a buttercream for the middle and added strawberry jam, there is only a tiny bit left! Thanks very much for posting this, cant recommend it enough, give it a go. I doubt anyone would notice it is gluten free if you didn't tell them
 
09 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: jillypoo
Used this reciepe for my daughters 21st birthday cake. I've made a few Glutin free cakes but my family gave the thumbs up to this one. It was moist and sponge and a hit with my daughter.
 
01 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: HFcool
This recipe works very well! The cake was moist & very tasty
 
Comment:
18 Nov 2012
MichB said:
Hi Does this have to be brown rice flour or can i use white? Also If I wanted to make a large sponge cake and not a victoria style do I need to increase the baking time and if so by how much. Thanks this recipe looks fab.
 
05 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Aliwali44
This cake is delicious! As a gluten intolerant person its always hard to find a nice tasting cake, but this one is yummy!!!! This cake was made for my birthday party and no one could tell it wasnt a 'normal' cake! Very yummy! Give it a try!
 
05 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: MarkMcGreehin
I cannot describe how elated my gluten intolerant friend is whenever I make this cake. And a dozen or so people without gluten intolerance have commented how much they like it (one even commenting it was the best cake he had ever tasted). So thank you very much for putting the recipe up!
 
30 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: rachuk76
I have used this recipe twice now substituting the rice flour for gluten free self raising flour and they come out light fluffy not the least bit dry. Gorgeous cake
 
08 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: pinkcuppycake
I would suggest making your own gf baking powder ie- 2parts cream of tartar, 1 part bicarb, 1 part cornflour, use as per instructions on recipe you are making. The gf powder i bought just made my cake dip in the middle like yorkshire pudding I made 2 batches as it was for a celebration cake and wasn't happy at all so decided to do a 3rd layer to give it some height but had run out of gf baking powder. Did a quick recipe hunt and found out what was needed, thankfully had everything in stock (which worked out cheaper than the gf powder!) The final batch was a total success...panic over!
 
14 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: SvetlanaGee
The most horrible cake that tasted of bitter baking soda and strong rice flour that we have ever tried. It rose beautifully in the oven but sank 5 min after being put in the oven. No one would finish their piece. Could it be wrong type of baking soda?
 
03 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: ArtemisCooks
This made a great gluten free cake. I only had white rice flour and it worked great. I also added some vanilla extract. I love that it does not require gums. I made an 8 inch cake and had to bake for an extra 10 minutes.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches