My reviews (35)

Retro Green Goddess Dressing

This recipe is from my gran's church cookbook from 1960. Hope you'll enjoy it.
Reviews (35)


15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JUSTJEN33
Served this over caesar salad...very strong but tasty! Good for garlic and onion lovers at least, will possibly try it in a pasta salad next time.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This was incredible! Maybe the best dressing i've ever had. Thanks for the new recipe.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SABRAMARIE
Very good! It was exactly the taste I was looking for. Thanks.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ZYGOTE
This is an excellent, easy recipe for those who like a good garlic/spring onion flavour to their dressing. Easy and tasty!
 
16 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: JJOYB53
I know that some of you think I shouldn't rate this a 5 because I did change it a bit - but it was such a good starting place and the changes were minor: cut back on the anchovies, and didn't have tarragon vinegar, so used white wine vinegar and added 1/2 tsp dried tarragon. My husband and I were reintroduced to Green Goddess at a new restaurant in town that highlights 40s and 50-style restaurant food - baked ham, great steaks (peppered steak with brandy sauce), wonderful meatloaf, Stroganoff - the kinds of food I remember being on the menu when my folks took us to "fancy" restaurants, but "kicked up" for the new century. Anyway, we tried the Green Goddess, and my husband was hooked - and this one is better than at the restaurant. Can't wait until summer so I can use fresh tarragon from the garden!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: JHIGGIN
This is an excellent, easy recipe for those who like a good garlic/scallion flavor to their dressing. Easy and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: PILARGO
Very good! It was exactly the taste I was looking for. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Trouble
So sad that I could not find tarragon vinegar or fresh or dried tarragon so I just used White Wine vinegar. I only used 1/3 a cup because the first time I made it I felt it was too bitter. I added another garlic and used 1 1/2 of the green onions. Also I only used 1 anchovy as they were extra fishy. I love anchovies and the more the better but these were just not that great.. I have to say with all that it was still amazing and delicious. I used Mayo light and you can't even tell the difference.. I live in South Africa and have a all girl get together tomorrow I can't wait for my girlfriends taste my Green Goddess YAY thank you so much.. It is also always better the next day
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Aquaria
An excellent Green Goddess, not too harsh with the scallions like some of them are, and I used the fresh tarragon with white vinegar mentioned by another user instead of tarragon vinegar--I had fresh tarragon leftover from another recipe, so why waste it? I didn't have any problems with the anchovies being salty, but I soaked them for an hour in a couple of cups each of water and white wine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Christine Somma
This was incredible! Maybe the best dressing i've ever had. Thanks for the new recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches