My reviews (35)

Retro Green Goddess Dressing

This recipe is from my gran's church cookbook from 1960. Hope you'll enjoy it.
Reviews (35)


26 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: CHELS
Served this over caesar salad...very strong but tasty! Good for garlic and onion lovers at least, will possibly try it in a pasta salad next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Becca
Excellant!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: gibsey23
This is the first time I'd tried this dressing. Really great...similar to a caeser, but, better in my opinion. Very tart, garlicky and oniony. I think you can leave out the salt though, as the anchovies are salty enough. Thanks, I'll be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: wolgastm
I was excited by this recipe but was terribly disappointed. Parsley being a very bland but the primary flavor made the only dominant flavor fish. I used half the anchovies, but still, that is all I tasted. My husband and I opted to throw the whole batch away. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: vicki
This was such a hit at a party last night, they told me I should bottle and sell it! Only change was substituting 1/2 cup white balsamic vinegar for the two other ones.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2010
We used this as a base recipe: We've never had g.g. dressing, so my recipe may be quite different. We ommitted the anchovies & parsley. We threw in some fresh basil and dried dill. Also, used balsamic and apple cider vinegar in place of the tarragon vinegar. The recipe does make more than two squeeze bottles full of dressing, so you may want to half it. It's been going quick around here: great on spinach.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: LUCKYKEL
my first Green Goddess recipe, and I thought it was delicious! (not sure if 'authentic', but certainly delicious!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Dana Hume Turnbull
WOW....great fresh garden taste! I remember Green Goddess dressing back in the '60s, before restaurants started offering Ranch. What a shame more don't bring this delight back. I feel this recipe is the best because of the amount of parsley - the entire bunch! If you cannot find tarragon vinegar, just sprinkle a little dry tarragon in the dressing. I would take this in jars to co-workers. They LOVED it. :o) Thank you, Verdie
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Windy
I followed the recipe exactly and all I could taste were achovies. The sauce was a bit runny but could be easily fixed. We threw the whole batch away. If I made again i'd use half the anchovies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: CooperCook
The flavor of this is great, but mine ended up just a tad runny. I think my lemon was too juicy. Next time I'll add just a little lemon at a time. Definitely use all of the anchovy filets!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches