My reviews (35)

Retro Green Goddess Dressing

This recipe is from my gran's church cookbook from 1960. Hope you'll enjoy it.
Reviews (35)


28 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: 10Diane
This recipe is amzingly easy & delicious. I used low fat yogurt to cut down on the fat. All I can say is WOW!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: INTELLIBLONDE
This was the ultimate. Surprisingly, I had no fresh ingredients (other than lemon), and it still turned out fabulous. I opted to use Penzey's Fox Point seasoning to replace the major ingredients (shallots, garlic, onions, etc.). I also opted to use 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream, and the tangy contrast to the lemon was great. Can't wait to make this 100% fresh.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: jansea
Made this for a big family gathering, everyone loved it and its consistency. I thought it was too runny. I will hand blend in the mayo next time to make it thicker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Smidge
This sounds wonderful. I love anchovies, and I like the idea of using half may and half plain yogurt. Definitely something I must try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: margaretd2000
I thought this was fantastic and had lots of bold flavors! It was not fishy at all (I thouoght I might even add some more anchovies) the only thing is it is too runny .....how should I thicken it? other than that .....LOVED it. Margaret
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: shaggyraggs
Now, that's what I'm talking about!! I used to make the Green Goddess dressing, from scratch, for a restaurant where I worked. When I read the ingredients for this recipe and saw that it called for green onions and anchovies, I knew this was the real deal. So many I've seen didn't include those two crucial ingredients. I didn't, however, use tarragon vinagar. Still tasted amazing without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Rob
I made this tonight the taste was vey good not too fishy. A little runny, did not have a lemon so I put two table spoons of lemon juice in. I don't know whether to increase the mayonese or decrease the lemon juice or the vinager a bit. Used half a cup of white balsalmic vinager and threw in a bunch of fresh terragon from my garden. The taste is great just a little runny.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ZYGOTE
This is an excellent, easy recipe for those who like a good garlic/spring onion flavour to their dressing. Easy and tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JUSTJEN33
Served this over caesar salad...very strong but tasty! Good for garlic and onion lovers at least, will possibly try it in a pasta salad next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes AU | NZ)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Ang
I think this is a basically good recipe with great potential but it was WAY too fishy tasting. Next time I'll try using only one can (or maybe even half a can) of anchovies instead. I agree with a previous reviewer that it doesn't need the added salt!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches