My reviews (141)

Ham and Bean Soup

Best use I have ever found for left over ham! Be sure to save the ham's juices and chill them so you can remove the fat, leaving behind the delicious juices to flavour the soup stock.
Reviews (141)


Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Nicole said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Great way to use leftover ham. I doubled the vegetables. Even the teenagers ate this. Cooked on simmer all day - thickened nicely. Froze well.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: DESIREENROI
Made this soup yesterday, and it tasted incredible. I did not find it in the least bland..I simply shook in a prodigious amount of the spices called for, plus a pinch of salt. A delicious soup.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: BAJATHECAT
Absolutely the best tasting soup. We couldn't stop eating it.
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. Delicious recipe, I changed a couple of things. I used pinto beans instead its what I had and I added 1 TBSP. brown sugar and 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, it was hit in my family. I have made this a couple times already, it remains our favourite ham and bean soup. I did add chicken stock for some of the liquid. So goood!!
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
MARY DOMAZ said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I loved this soup. It was so easy. I did double the amount of seasoning and added a couple of extra carrots. I also cooked it in the slow cooker for about 6 hours. It was perfect for a chilly day and even better the next day.
 
26 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: missD43
Delicious recipe, I changed a couple of things. I used pinto beans instead its what I had and I added 1 tsp. brown sugar and 1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper, it was hit in my family. I have made this a couple times already, it remains our favorite ham and bean soup. I did add chicken stock for some of the liquid. So goood!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Lorie
Great way to use leftover ham. My only change: substituted 2 cans vegetable broth (low salt)for some of the water and doubled up the vegetables. Even the teenagers ate this. Cooked on simmer all day - thickened nicely. Froze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Linda Gibson Peabody
I loved this soup. It was SUper easy. I did double the amount of seasoning and added a couple of extra carrots. I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 6 hours. It was perfect for a chilly day and even better the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer
I have never made ham and bean soup before....this was so easy and delicious! Thickened up very nicely on its own as I simmered it for about 2 hours. I also added some ground mustard powder. Everyone loved it! Might try it in the crockpot next time! It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MamaBat
Made this soup yesterday, and it tasted incredible. I did not find it in the least bland...I did however use the bag of 15 bean soup mix I had purchased instead of the navy beans, but not the seasoning it came with. I simply shook in a prodigious amount of the spices called for, plus a pinch of salt. A delicious soup, great with cornbread muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches