My reviews (1,958)

Honey-soy chicken kebabs

Honey, soy sauce and garlic make a terrific marinade and basting sauce for chicken kebabs with your favourite vegetables - try onion, peppers, cherry tomatoes or mushrooms. Barbecue or grill.
Reviews (1958)


18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Sous Andy
This is an excellent recipe, and lives up to all the reviews. A few things to remember. 1. Double the sauce, or you won't have enough. 2. If you're going to baste with the sauce, do it in the last minutes of of cooking. 3. Marinating the chicken and veggies is a MUST, and the longer the better. I left them for about 8 hours. 4. If you're using wooden skewers, don't forget to soak them in water for a few hours, or they'll burn. 5. If you lower your bbq temperature a bit, you'll be able to put the veggies and chicken on the same skewers and they'll come out cooked to perfection. Oh, and you've got to add some pineapple pieces.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
MARPUP69 said:
Used different ingredients. We had a party and decided to serve these for something a little different. They were a hit!! People are still talking about them 2 months later. We marinated prawns in addition to the chicken and added pineapple to the skewers. They were fabulous.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
BEBOC said:
Something else. This was really good. The only thing that I did differently was to put all the chicken together on skewers and the veggies together on skewers. This way, if the veggies got done first they didn't burn while waiting for the chicken.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: HBAnderson
This is a very tasty and versatile recipe! I haven't had any trouble with lack of flavour; in fact, the other night I made this last minute and it only marinated about 30 minutes and was still delicious. The kebabs are great, but one of my favourite ways to use this is as a sandwich: leave the chicken breasts intact, or cut in half to fit a bap. Otherwise, follow the recipe for marinating the chicken (I did put the garlic and onion in the marinade for flavour). Serve on a bap (I prefer whole wheat) with cheese melted on top, honey mustard, and toppings of your choice (lettuce, tomato, onion, etc). Yum! If you make extra chicken, try the leftovers sliced on a salad for lunch the next day.
 
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tori21x
very nice and easy to make. my kids loved them
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KIMBACUB
This recipe was fantastic! Even my 3 year old ate the chicken. My husband who is the pickiest human alive absolutely loved it. Thanks for a great summer recipe!
 
30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: silverwood
Absolutely fantastic recipe! Really easy and fast to prepare and tastes great. I would definitely recommend letting it marinade overnight but I only had 1 hour and they were still delicious! Enjoy!
 
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Sleepichick
My partner and I decided we needed a marinade for our kebabs so we found this one and decided to give it a try. Normally I struggle to get him to clear his plate. This time I had to remind him to leave some for me.
 
12 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Keri
I made these for my husband & our friends and they were delicious,i let the chicken marinate for 4 hours in the fridge,but i forgot 2 put the garlic inWhich i'm sure would have made them taste even better!I will definitely be making these again
 
20 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: DianeGregory
Chose this as a starter for my first ever 3 course meal (and the first meal I've ever made for my boyfriend) so the stakes were high! He absolutely loved it! The only problem is he now thinks I'm a brilliant cook and wants 3 home-cooked 3 course meals all the time! I followed the recipe exactly, except I couldn't get skewers anywhere, so I marinated the chicken over night, drained the marinade off and just oven baked the chicken and vegetables for about 15mins. Delicious! It's now my favourite food!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches