My reviews (14)

Italian bread soup

Brimming with vegetables and beans, this soup is topped with slices of ciabatta and grated Parmesan before it's baked for the final 30 minutes of cooking.
Reviews (14)


24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: REBECCA HENDERSON
I have now made this soup multiple times with a little extra pepper and have received rave reviews. I have left out the bread when serving it as part of a meal as it is a very hearty soup that otherwise can be used as a meal in and of itself. Either way, it's fantastic!
 
Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Suzanne said:
Used different ingredients. This was tasty and fairly simple, a great family meal. Nutritous, yummy and inexpensive to make. Made six very hearty servings with leftovers. I changed the recipe slightly: omitted the celery and fresh parsley (didn't have it), used half small head of cabbage, two chopped carrots and added three spicy Italian sausages which I browned with the onions.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: POOKY1969
This recipe made a yummy soup! However, the estimated prep time of 30 min for me was a little short - it took me closer to an hour. Maybe I will be more efficient and faster next time. Also, the soup is very thick and I might add some more chicken stock next time.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: wifeyluvs2cook
this soup came out very thick - more the consistency of bean and vegetable stew - and had very little flavour. i tried spicing it up with herbs and spices but it still was pretty blah.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MCSADIE
I did not like this. The taste was semi-ok, but with uncooked potatoes, over cooked cabbage, and soggy bread, the texture of the soup ultimately stopped me picking at it and binning the rest. Sorry, won't be making again.
 
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RDR2Q
I was very excited to find a recipe for ribollita after having some in Florence. This recipe made a yummy soup! However, the estimated prep time of 30 min for me was a little short - it took me closer to an hour. Maybe I will be more efficient and faster next time. Also, the soup is very thick and I might add some more chicken broth next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Emma
I did not like this. The taste was semi-ok, but with uncooked potatoes, over cooked cabbage, and soggy bread, the texture of the soup ultimately stopped me picking at it and throwing the rest out. Sorry, won't be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: SAILORTIFF
This was tasty and fairly simple, a great family meal. Nutritous, yummy, and inexpensive to make. Made six very hearty servings with leftovers. I changed the recipe slightly: omitted the celery and fresh parsley (didn't have it), used half small head of cabbage, two chopped carrots, and one can great northern beans and one can dark red kidney beans, and added three links hot Italian sausage which I browned with the onions. This is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Stacey
I have now made this soup multiple times with a little extra pepper and have received rave reviews. I have left out the bread when serving it as part of a meal as it is a very hearty soup that otherwise can be used as a meal in and of itself. Either way, it's fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: TESSAJE
this soup came out very thick - more the consistency of bean and vegetable stew - and had very little flavor. i tried spicing it up with herbs and spices but it still was pretty blah. i didn't necessarily expect the riboletta i had while travelling through italy, but hoped for at least a good vegetable-bean soup. not here.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches