This recipe comes from my Italian grandmother. It was always one of my favourites. It's best if you chill it overnight.
Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
Tasty, went down a treat at party.. - 28 Apr 2013
Altered ingredient amounts. I thought it was too dry. Perhaps I put too much grated cheese in, or maybe because I left the olives out. - 24 Jul 2008
Altered ingredient amounts. I just made this into a pasta salad. I increased the olive oil to 200ml and the vinegar to 60ml and used 1 tablespoon dried oregano and chilled it. Salt and pepper to taste. It was good. - 24 Jul 2008