Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
Swapped the goats cheese for cheddar, and it was superb! - 26 Oct 2015
I made this for a friend, just used cheddar cheese and cows milk,my friend was very impressed said it was very tasty - 29 Oct 2017
I have to be honest and did not use goats cheese or milk, just ordinary I'm afraid but that did not stop the superb flavours coming through, this was a wonderful tasty dish that I will use again and again. The one problem I did have was that my bechemal sauce did not cover all the lasagne and the lasagne sheets did not cook properly so next time I will cook for longer and make sure all the lasagne is covered with sauce. Thank you so much for this recipe. - 17 May 2017