My reviews (53)

Simple plum cake

This fruity cake is utterly delicious. A buttery sponge cake is topped with fresh and succulent plums. Enjoy for afternoon tea, elevenses or for dessert.
Reviews (53)


04 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Graibean
Easy recipe but lack flavour . I even added vanilla to sponge and dark brown sugar with mixed spice sprinkled on top of plums.
 
29 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: mrsbonherm
Miss B on Herm made this. Enjoyed by all as a dessert. Cooked the plums for a few minutes in butter and sugar in a frying pan before putting on the cake.
 
25 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: aledwynevans
Really easy. I didn't have caster sugar so I used soft brown sugar, worked perfectly. Served with creme fraich makes a great pudding.
 
25 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: paulbe
easy recipe very nice.
 
05 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: DariaKwiatkowska
Make it.
 
22 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Patricia
Thank you for the recipe. The cake was very easy to make. I liked that it was light and not very sweet. I served it reheated with some apple pie ice cream (limited edition from Edy's) and vanilla ice cream. Here are some tiny changes I made: 4 eggs instead of 3, because I had one leftover, light brown sugar instead of white sugar, I added some spices like cinnamon, nutmeg and 1 tsp. vanilla. I mixed the lemon zest with the plums instead and coated them with a little bit brown sugar, which made them sweeter and look glossy at the end. I didn't know what a tube pan was, so I used my pie form. It looked pretty (rustic) and I will definetly make it again in the next days, but with asian pears. I will report on how it turned out. Hope that helped. Update: I did make a cake with asian pears but I used a new recipe for a walnut pie crust (interesting recipe). Just wanted to let you know that the pears baked beautifully, in case you were curious. I was very surprised how firm they stayed. I expected them to turn out soft and soggy because of their high water content. The flavor was mild.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: BANDORA
I added a struesel topping and added cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter. there was only one problem - I only made one!!!! Everyone loved it and wanted me to make another!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: CAROLYN T.
One of my husband's favorite food. I too added sugar on top of the cake to add sweetness (brown sugar). I don't have to worry about refridgerating this cake, it's gone in a flash!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: lenihan5
The cake is very good although I usually don't make recipes that reuire stiffening egg whites. The cake is light and sweet, not heavy. However, the skins on my plums are sour and I need to sweeten them to make it a better tasting recipe. I sprinkled powdered sugar on them and it helped a little. Again, very good overall.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: LUNARORA
This cake is so yummy and light. It's perfect for a summer evening. My husband LOVED it and he doesn't usually care for desserts. The only change I made was to include some brown sugar with the plum layer and I used an 8inch cake pan (I don't have a tube pan). But it still came out wonderfully. I will make this often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches