My reviews (179)

White Chocolate Layer Cake

This is a fantastic cake for fans of white chocolate. A white chocolate flavoured sponge cake is spread with a rich, white chocolate icing.
Reviews (179)

29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: hellzbellz82
This was a great cake. DONT ADD THE WATER it says to. just melt the white choc over heated water. If you do not have 26cm tins just do what I did and fill two 23cm tins but not all the way to the top so it has some room to rise and it does not overflow. It is a bit sickly so maybe someone could say if they've added any jam or compote/fruits to the middle layer??
08 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: ChrisBigBearHammond
Looks like a wicked easy cake to bake, just one word of advise... When melting Chocolate, Do Not Add Hot WATER to the chocolate as its states. Everyone knows You melt Chocolate in a bowel OVER hot water!! lol lol
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: amyloufitz
this didnt go too well,i made it twice both times the cake mixture was too wet and the icing didnt thicken!
31 May 2011
Reviewed by: Anechka
The recipe is really great! I made this cake for my husband's BD and it was sooo tasty! Before putting cream on layers cool them completely!
07 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Nannycoleen
Made this cake once before about to make it again today I used 3 tins and put fresh raspberries between each layer as well as the cream
12 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: DonnaParkes
I bake a lot, and this is possibly the worst baking result I have ever seen. I have had water + chocolate recipes before. but should have gone with my initial thought that the water level was too high. It sank completely, it could not even be offered to my child to eat it was that bad. It was also incredibly eggy tasting.
10 May 2013
Reviewed by: MarieMartinez
I have made this cake as per the recipe on a number of occasions - it has always been a hit, both with children and adults. When I first read it and saw "melt chocolate and water" I thought it was a disaster waiting to happen, but I was completely wrong. My husband prefers dark chocolate, so I swapped the white chocolate with 70% dark - complete and utter success. I have also made them as cupcakes, mini-cupcakes and in muffin size and they are scrumptious. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!!
22 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: comriegold
Big enough to feed an army. The buttermilk really helps to make it light. I had a problem with a leaky tin but still managed to turn out well. Wasn't difficult to make. But time consuming. A labour of love. The buttercream was so unusual. I will mix crushed raspberries thru it next time to balance it out. Be a fantastic birthday cake for the lovers of white chocolate like me. A wee bit pricey when all the ingredients added up but worth it
06 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: janebakes
this cake worked perfect first time and was enjoyed by all who tried it!
20 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: SharonWiggill
The cake is fine although the chocolate flavour doesn't come through much. However the icing mixture is not good far to runny. I am having to rescue my birthday cake by finding another chocolate icing method.


My recently viewed recipes

My recent searches