My reviews (318)

Beef and pasta bake

An easy, yet incredibly tasty pasta bake. Pasta is layered with minced beef, tomatoes, chicken soup and cheese before being baked to perfection.
Reviews (318)


29 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: rbrooke
Fantastic! The only change I made was to use a whole block of cheese (400g) because we like things CHEESY!
 
24 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: Ladytab1972
Lovely! Made this for 3 people so half everything apart from the tomatoes, soup and garlic and it went down a treat. We will be making again.
 
30 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: JQWILHELM
As written, this dish is dry; but I've made a few adjustments that make it much better. First, add some salt and pepper to the hamburger when cooking. One can of tomatoes is hardly worth the effort - increase it to two. I mix about 1 cup of light sour cream and about 1/4 cup of milk in with the soup. Don't layer with the cheese. Cover with aluminum foil and bake about 45 minutes. Then, top with shredded cheese (I'm not sure what the point of a 1/4 cup of cheese is....increase it to your liking), remove foil and cook ~10 more minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: JENIFER13
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I followed exactly as written however, I could only cook it for 30 minutes as it was drying out and one whole onion was too much; 12 oz. of egg noodles was also too much. It tasted ok, but was dry. The second time I used 1/2 onion, plain diced tomatoes (not stewed), substituted mozzarella for the cheddar, used 1/2 package of noodles and cooked for about 20 minutes and it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: az_starshine
No complaints here! It's very appropriate this dish is called Amish YUMzuti because it is delicious! I just took it out of the oven and had to try a little bit since it smelled so good when it was baking. The cheese made this glorious crust over the noodles, and that alone was enough to make me give this a five-star review. The combination of cream of chicken soup, canned tomatoes and ground beef sounded bizarre, but it is really complimentary. I used bow-tie pasta and greased the bottom of my baking dish with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray. The noodles came out without any problems, and I'm thoroughly enjoying my tiny helping of this great casseole. Thank you for sharing, Karen! I'll be sure to make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NLBRIGHT
Made this twice so far!! First time I followed the original recipe. But it was a little dry and the noodles on top became crunchy. The second time, I used two cans of cream of mushroom, doubled the garlic, and added chopped mushrooms to the beef and that did the trick. excellent dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: Two Pooches
This was a great change from the everyday casserole. Even my hubby liked it even though he is not a big fan of casseroles. The only modifications I made was to add another can of cream of chicken soup, about 1 cup of cheese and I used diced tomatoes with onions, peppers & celery and only 6 oz. of noodles. I noticed some comments stated the noodles were crunchy...Tip:make sure all noodles are covered with sauce. This is a definite keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: BIKERMOM
I read several of the other views. I used cream of mushroom soup and thinned it out. Next time I'll add 2 soups. I also added more cheese. I'll also plan on adding green pepper and mushroom when I brown the meat. Overall it was good and we will add it to our meal planner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: JosieBailey
I gave this 4 stars, but only because I altered it. I used Italian stewed tomatoes, added some chopped green bell peppers, 86ed the celery, subbed elbow macaroni noodles because I didn't have any egg noodles, and added tomato sauce because other reviewers said it was a bit dry. It was delicious! My kids loved it, which is a pretty big deal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 May 2002
Reviewed by: Bec
I made this last night and we really liked it... I'm sure I will make it again. It's easy to make, doesn't take a lot of prep time, and tastes great, plus the leftovers are great to take for lunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches