My reviews (94)

Sausage and cheese bread pudding

This is a decadent and rich savoury bread pudding that is perfect for a special brunch. The results are delicious, and guests will be impressed with such a different dish - but it's very easy to make! Use your favourite well seasoned sausage.
Reviews (94)


29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: JoonOfArc
Delicious! I used half pepperjack and half monterey jack. And you definitely need more than 4oz of sausage... other than that, perfection! I gave out the recipe all morning
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Jules
Fantastic! Not sure what makes it Bayou-like - it might need crawfish for that. I did make some changes, using: - 1 lb turkey italian sausage - About 13 oz of a fresh baguette that I "butterflied" and put in the oven at low heat for a while until somewhat dry. - 1/2 lb Sargento shredded Mexican cheese blend - 2 c whole milk - 16 eggs - White pepper - Maybe 1 T + 1 t Dijon mustard - About 1/2 c white wine - About 3/4 - 1 c sour cream in the egg mix and dolloped the rest of the 16 oz container on top after cooking - About 1/4 t cinnamon - Sprinkled the green onions on top instead of baking in the eggs - Sprinkled Cajun seasoning on top just before serving Took it to work and cooked it in an electric skillet @ about 210 for an hour, removing condensation on lid once. Put Slap Ya Mama seasoning and Sriracha chili sauce on the table. It received RAVE reviews!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: DHayes
Great dish, went like hot cakes for the office Friday brunch. I use l lb. of Jimmy Dean Italian Sauage and used ground red pepper instead of the flakes. As my husband would say "This is company quality".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: COWBOYUP69
In a word...OUTSTANDING!!! As the man of the house I do virtually all the cooking. I can tell you that this is one of the easiest recipes to fix, and the results were just incredible. There were only two small pieces left from the 8 serving dish. I have already emailed this to everyone I know. Thank you so very much for a tasty dish that even a man can't mess it up!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: slfortson
I think the title of being a "bayou" style dish is a little inappropriate given the chosen ingredients, but that being said, it tasted really good. Because I was wanting a Cajun kick, I bought a 4 pack of Louisiana style Cajun sausages. Several reviewers suggested that it didn't have nearly enough sausage in it, so I just chopped up all 4 sausages and I thought it was the perfect amount. I also really liked the subtle wine flavor, which is unique for a breakfast casserole (I just used the cheapest Chardonnay I could find). My only suggestion is that I think the Monterey cheese could be cut down from 4 cups to 3 cups. Overall, I thought it was a unique, great idea, and I will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: NIKKI99
This was a good dish to make for a brunch. However, I made some changes that I think really improved it. First of all, there's not enough sausage in the original recipe. I doubled it, and it was just enough where you could at least taste it. Second, it calls for a lb. of cheese. For me, that is way too much. I cut that in half and used one package (8 oz) of cheese which worked fine. That way you can taste the rest of this instead of just the cheese. Third, i didn't have green onions so I chopped up one onion and sauteed it in a pan THEN added it. It was delicious and you could taste that buttery soft onion in there... I would make this again, but not as the original recipe states. The bread soaking in the egg overnight made it delicious though and it is worth a pop in the oven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: aimless
This was very tasty and it was different than the usual breakfast casserole. The white wine gives it a great taste. Very easy to make, I used turkey sausage and 1/2 pepperjack cheese, 1/2 medium chedder. I do not think I used as much cheese as it calls for though. I will definately make this my number one breakfast recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ILuv2cook
Very good! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jaja's daughter
I thought it was too rich and a few too many flavors going on with the wine, sour cream & italian sausage. I won't bother making it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: harpchat
This was the HIT of our New Year's Day Brunch. Several people asked for the recipe. I made some minor substitutions based on what I had on hand. Instead of day-old bread, I used some left-over Pepperidge Farm herbed stuffing mix, used 1lb of breakfast sausage and instead of Monterrey Jack cheese I used 8oz of white cheddar and 6oz of crumbled Feta. You know it's a great recipe when people can make minor modifications and it STILL comes out wonderfully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches