My reviews (19)

Butter Cake with Butter Glaze

This cake is a as simple and sweet as they come. It's a simple sponge with a lovely buttery glaze. Perfect with a cuppa.
Reviews (19)


21 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CindyKnottenbelt
If you are old enough to remember the "Pillsbury" Butter Brickle cake from the 70's, you know that this cake tastes nothing like it. The cake was dry and the icing too rich. Even with Heath bars crumbled up in the icing...it just didn't taste like the Butter Brickle cake I remembered when I was much younger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2000
Reviewed by: RIPLEY95
This was my first experience baking a cake from scratch and it was great! I made it for my husband's birthday & he loved it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: BIBBISS
This is GREAT! I've made this several times for different occassions and its always a hit! -I cut it into bite sized pieces and put them into little cupcake cups on a tray -that way none gets wasted b/c some people think its too sweet. I've also ground up some hazlenuts and pecans and sprinkled them over the top when it is still warm.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 May 2002
Reviewed by: Darla
Used as a cake with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, one of my favorite desserts! Has a wonderful taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Meredith Jeffrey
This cake is absolutely delicious. It was easy to make and turned out perfectly. The texture was very soft and moist. I would recommend this cake strongly to everyone, even if it's your first!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: BILLIEBCC
It's a nice change from other cakes. Not too sweet, kinda dense and crumbly though. I was hoping for more of a moist cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jenbeth
Good cake for something a little different. I added 3oz cream cheese and toffee bits to the batter. I baked mine as a bundt at 350 for 55 minutes. Be sure to grease and flour the pan really well if you make the bundt, mine still stuck a little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sumchelle
Well, there went the diet... I couldn't stop eating this thing! Never had a Butter Brickle cake before. Thankfully, curiosity made me try it. SOOO GOOD!!! I did add a bag of Heath Toffee bits to the batter (saved some for the glaze). And for the glaze, I forgot to add in the evaporated milk, but it was still wonderful. (Halfway melted some of the toffee bits into the glaze, and then sprinkled some more toffee bits on the top, for aesthetics). **UPDATE: These do not translate well into cupcakes**
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: ncountrynhcook
I made this cake for my brothers birthday, with the Best Buttercream Frosting from this site also. Unbelivable!!! The cakes has great flavor and moist. For the frosting it went very well with the cake. I followed another review to beat the sugar and butter mix for 15 min. to break down the grain of the sugar what a difference. Its a Keeper!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: CMAG1
Delicious! Next time I'll add toffee bits to the batter and on top of the icing. It was also pretty easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches