My reviews (64)

Butterscotch blondies

If you like chewy chocolate brownies, but also love butterscotch, then try this recipe for butterscotch blondies. They're moreish and delicious and really easy to make. The butterscotch icing is to die for. Great for cake sales.
Reviews (64)


13 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Rebecca_S
Delicious once I'd adjusted the quantities: 125g melted butter 200g sugar 175g flour 2 eggs Beat eggs and sugar together then add vanilla extract and melted butter. Sieve in flour and baking powder. Bake for 20 minutes then ice as recipe above. It makes 16 squares or 12 rectangles.
 
24 May 2011
Reviewed by: moonpig1963
this has to be the most disastrous thing i have ever made......turned out flat, tasteless & inedible. Didnt appear to be enough butter to combine with the other ingredients......are the quantities correct????
 
08 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: Looobie69
I’m not convinced the quantities of the ingredients have been converted from an American recipe correctly. It was a disaster, wish I’d read the reviews first!! Allrecipes... It might be a good idea to change this recipe!!
 
15 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: DarylEvans
The sponge came out really sticky and gooey. I didnt really mind coz the topping is top notch food .
 
09 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: BakingDad
Made this today using the recipe with Rebecca's adjustments. Nice, but tastes more like coffee & walnut than butterscotch. Will try again using Light Brown Soft sugar and perhaps self raising flour as it stayed quite flat. Baked at 160 for 20mins in a fan-assisted oven. That said, my daughter loved it with a big glass of milk as an after school treat.
 
20 May 2012
Reviewed by: jax62
liked the sound of these...read the reviews was not quite sure. looked at the ingridients and decided to halve the sugar to110g and to addan extra egg,checked on them after 20 mins they were cooked,decorated as the recipe really nice cake
 
24 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Welsh_chick
not happy with this at all. Didn't rise at all and didn't taste too great.
 
28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Wildflower86
I followed other reviewers' ideas by decreasing the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. Because some had said the brownies weren't chewy enough I added 1 tbsp cooking oil with the butter. Others had said it was too floury-tasting so I decreased the flour to 2/3 cup. And I decreased the baking powder to 3/4 tsp. Also, I baked them til they were just brown around the edges, about 23 minutes. And --- TA-DA! I ended up with moist, chewy brownies. I halved the frosting recipe, and it was just the right amount; not overly thick or sweet. What a pleasant change from chocolate brownies, with a lighter and more delicate flavor. We loved them with the recipe changes I made.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: ez4me
To the person who said she ate the whole batch! EASY TO DO!!ME TOO! I added 1 cup of Butterscotch morsels and cooked for 45 minutes after doubling the recipe.I also added 1 cup of pecans instead of Walnuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Ange Rayner
The icing ruined it for me i'm afraid. Way too sweet!!(stick to the roof of your mouth sweet). Its saving grace was the chewy, almost cookie like brownie. If i make them again, it will definately be with a different icing. Thanks for the brownie recipe anyway...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches