My reviews (66)

Caramel Pecan Butter Cake

This is a rich, moist and dense cake that is topped with a luscious caramel icing. Perfect for special occasions when you want something other than chocolate cake. Note that you can use two 20cm or 23cm round cake tins instead of the tube tin; just adjust baking time as needed.
Reviews (66)


25 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: nay nay
I made this cake once before, but this was before i became a member of all recipes. This is a very good recipe.I will be using it. I saw where some of the viewers said it was a heavy cake, just try sifting the flour twice, and instead of frosting the whole cake I just used it as a glaze and it was very good. Another winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: COOKIEGIRL246
I was surprised for two reasons: #1 when I first DL this recipe on Thanksgiving Day, there wer no ratings for it yet. So I was a little worried but wanted to try something different. #2 I was amazed ath the amount of sugar it called for in just the batter. But it came out great nice and moist, mildy sweet and nutty. It tasted great even without the frosting. Which I recommend you let cool to get a better consistency. The frosting is rich but really good... Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: GINAH1
This cake was very well received by my family-the only drawback was that it took a long time and a lot of stirring to get the frosting ready, but when it was, it was absolutely delicious. I would make this cake again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Doris Cheung
This cake was very heavy, rich, and moist. I would consider this recipe for advanced, patient bakers. If using a tube pan with a removable bottom, wrap foil around the outside of it and place pan on a rimmed cookie sheet or it could leak all over the oven! After cooking the frosting, I transferred it to a pyrex bowl to speed up the cooling process, but it still took a good amount of stirring to get it to frosting consistency. I found it much too sugary sweet and next time would opt for drizzling each cake slice with a little caramel sauce and garnish with some fruit for color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JUSTSILVER
This poundcake tasted great (esp. the frosting) but was WAY to confusing to make. Read the entire recipe a few times before making this. Notice that under ingredients dark brown sugar and brown sugar are both listed but in the directions it doesn't indicate which one to use when. I believe dark brown is used in step 2. Good luck
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: TSTARR123
Oh my goodness, I made this cake today for my family and everyone loved it. It was not dry at all as some members indicated. I did substitute buttermilk for the milk in the recipe. It was a little sweet but still good and moist. I will make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: CLFOUNTAIN
The cake itself is absolutely wonderful - moist and dense and very flavorful. I too had problems with the frosting, but I always do with cooked frostings so I just used it as a glaze instead of an all-over frosting and thought it was just as good. I didn't have any pecans so left those out of the cake and thought it was just as good without. I would definitely make this cake again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: SHONNAE
This recipe was good, I used a 10' bundt cake pan, and the cake was overflowing in the oven, cake was everywhere. After the cake finish baking, it had sunk, and stuck to the pan... So what was left I put it in the cake pan. The icing was perfect, the cake was very moist, even though it is whop sided, but it is still good.. Could someone tell me what went wrong????!!! I will try again, I'm going to the store and purchase a 10' tube cake pan...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JUSTABUMPKIN
I chose to add 3/4 tsp of salt (the AIB coming out in me) to this recipe as others noted blandness in finished cake. It was still on the bland side...but quite edible and certainly moist. The frosting was absolutely scrumptious. I will no doubt give this recipe one more go with a few changes but the frosting recipe will be used again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: HuggieBear39
I made this cake today for my birthday. It turned out great and taste wonderful. My oven must be off, it took almost 120 minutes before the toothpick came out clean. Other than that I had no trouble with this recipe. I did add a teaspoon of kosher salt to the batter. Alton Brown said it helps all sweets. I put a nice pinch of salt in the frosting too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches