My reviews (698)

Braised chicken breasts with sweet red wine sauce

A very simple but flavourful chicken breast recipe that is perfect when served with rice and green veg. The chicken is braised in a simple combination of garlic, red wine, paprika and soft brown sugar. You can also use one whole chicken, cut up, for this dish, or 1.25kg of any chicken pieces you like.
Reviews (698)


01 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: HERSHEYQUEEN
I adjusted this recipe slghtly after reading the other reviews. It must have worked because my husband, who belongs to "picky-eaters anonomous" asked for seconds! This recipe makes the best chicken I have ever tasted. The adjustemnts I made were to decrease the paprkia and brown sugar by half, only use 3/4 c wine and leave the lid off so it thickens better. Try it, you'll love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SHEINSHINE
Following some of the advice of others, I modified this recipe to tailor it to my family's tastes. For this, I used four boneless chicken breasts with the tenderloin cut to create eight pieces of chicken. I added sliced onions and mushrooms, which I sauted before browning the chicken and returned to the pot after adding the liquid. I also cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup, as per others suggestions. In addition, I only used 1/2 cup of a nice "Concho y Toro" chilean merlot and added 1/2 cup of reduced sodium chicken broth for the liquid. I dredged the chicken in seasoned salt and the paprika and let it sit 15 minutes which helped to create a nice color during the browning process, as I decided not to fully cook the chicken before the simmer to reduce dryness. I also thickened the broth, as per a suggestion, after removing the cooked chicken by adding 1 tablespoon cornstarch and heating to boiling. This recipe was excellent! My two year old gobbled up the chicken and demanded not only seconds but thirds! The sauce, thick with onions and mushrooms, made a wonderful gravy for mashed potatoes. I was paid the highest compliment for this dish as my mother-in-law asked for the recipe! What better endorsement than that? Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: AnnaG
This recipe was great, but the measurements on the ingredient list must be way off. 1 1/2 cups of sugar is WAY too much. So is 1 tablespoon of salt. This recipe is perfect with about 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of pepper and t teaspoon of paprika. Also, I suggest simmering the chicken with the lid off so the wine will reduce a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: EPROFITT
I used 1/4 cup sugar, which was just enough. The 'something extra' I added was 1TBSP unsalted butter. I added in a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce (I spooned some of the sauce into a separate bowl, mixed with with the corn starch and then put it back into the skillet so it wouldn't get lumpy.) Next time, I may use 3/4 c. wine and 1/4 cup water or broth. It was pretty powerful, but good, chicken. I also coated the chicken with salt, pepper and paprika before I started cooking. I don't remember the measurements but it wasn't the same as this recipe mentions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: VHIXEN
I've used this website for a LOT of recipes, but this is the first one I've made where my boyfriend couldn't stop talking the entire way through the meal about how great it was. He even ate the extra chicken that I made to bring to lunch today! I too reduced the brown sugar and upped the red wine (we're wine drinkers, so I knew that would be good) and it was delicious. I didn't have any paprika and it turned out fine. I also seasoned the chicken a little with some salt and pepper about an hour before cooking it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: wifeyluvs2cook
This dish has soo much potential, to make it a hit, there must be changes. First off, I seasoned chicken with salt pepper, and seared in olive oil until juices ran clear. Then I removed from pan, drained some of the oil, added 1/2 cup of sliced red onion, i garlic clove chopped, 1 cup of red wine, 1/2 cup of chicken stock, and 1 good tbs of brown sugar. DO NOT USE ALL THE BROWN SUGAR RECIPE CALLS FOR, I also added some garlic powder and onion powder, and 1/2 tsp of dried basil, and a good pinch of crushed red pepper to balance the sweetness. I let sauce simmer for awhile and added the chicken back to the pan, coating well with sauce. Let reduce down a little. Meanwhile I cooked 1/2lb of spaghetti noodles. I removed the chicken from the pan, and placed on platter, and tossed spaghetti in remainder of sauce. The sauce this way is wonderful!!!NOt sweet at all, and a little spice from the crushed peppers. It will be a winner if you tweak with it, and the spaghetti with the sauce was out of this world, it was a gourmet meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2002
Reviewed by: GINAH1
Awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
I personally liked this recipe, but my family members only thought it to be okay. I think because it is VERY sweet. I would reduce the sugar and wine. Since I am the cook, I plan to make it again regardless of the support from my family, but I will modify it slightly so that they also enjoy it. PS-I agree on the mushrooms-add them! Its worth it. Also, simmer with the lid off! This will result in not too much extra sauce (unless you have plenty of something to dip it in!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JBH0521
Very yummy recipe and something different than what I normally fix. I cut back on the sugar, and made sure that I used a dry red wine. I also sliced an onion into thin rings and sauteed it with the garlic for some additional texture to the dish. I made it the first time for company and everyone really enjoyed it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CATHYN121
I made this for my fiance and he absolutely loves it! I added mushrooms to the recipe and it tasted delicious. Made the chicken again two days later for guests...and needless to say, they enjoyed it as much as we did! Will definately make this again! This is now one of my favorite chicken dishes! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches