My reviews (44)

Cheddar chicken breasts with wine and mushroom sauce

In this tasty but easy to do dish, chicken breast fillets are breaded with Parmesan breadcrumbs, then pan fried until golden. The chicken is then combined with Cheddar cheese, mushrooms and wine, then baked. A delicious sauce results. Use white wine if you haven't rose to hand.
Reviews (44)


05 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MBLAKELY
This stuff was good I did a little differnet I did chicken broth instead of wine the broth went real well with the mushrooms and when the chicken was done i added more cheese and put it back in oven for 4 min to let melt I served it with mushroom rice green beens and cresent rolls everybody loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: AnneMo
This recipe has potential. The cheese/egg/bread crumb breading was delicious and the chicken turned out very very tender. However, I would recommend using a drier wine (like chardonnay or other white) instead of white zin as the sauce was a bit too sweet. Or I might mix half wine with half chicken broth. I also added a lot of garlic and extra mushrooms which helped. I didn't add the full 3 cups of cheese as I thought that was excessive. I would also recommend adding a bit of cornstarch or cooking the mushroom/wine sauce for 10-15 minutes to let it thicken, and possibly adding some chicken boullion for flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: AMBERLEENA
I just wanted to say that I made this dish and found the flavor to be terrible, so this is a warning to people who don't like white wine, YOU WILL NOT LIKE THE FLAVOR OF THE CHICKEN. Other than that, it was easy and the chicken was very juicy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: SONNY YOO
This recipe is pretty good.I have one sugestion which add the wine and mushroom sauce after cooking because the sauce makes breaded items suggy or add one third first and add rest of it later.thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: R. J. Nequette
My husband and I loved this recipe. I made enough to send to a couple who frequently shares prepared food with us. I was confident that they would like this dish after my husband and I had the first portions of the recipe. It is a winner! I followed the recipe - except that I used 6 good sized pieces fo chicken. I put 3 peices each into 2 baking dishes and had enough to share with my neighbors. *** This note was added after I made this dish the second time. The first time I made this was great...the second time mine came out soggy as others have mentioned...I believe I got over-confident maybe used too much liquid, or I had juicier chicken and mushrooms - so I would recommend cutting the liquids a bit. (You can always add more if your dish appears to be on the dry side when you check it, but heat the liquids in the microwave before adding so that you don't slow your cooking process.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: LTILLEY3435
My husband and I just loved this recipe. We don't drink Zinfandel, so used Chardonnay. Will definitely have this on a regular basis.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: SUMMER241
This recipe is great! My whole family loves it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2003
Reviewed by: Kate Fisher
Very good and easy. A nice twist on the usual baked chicken. Texture and flavor were lovely, I would make two changes. Next time, garlic bread crumbs, and sauteed onions (or garlic) or both along with the mushrooms. A bit of extra kick would make this satisfying dish even more impressive. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Care
This was so scrumptious! I cut the liquids and it came out GREAT! I wish I would have taken a photo of it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Mom2JD
Very nice flavor. I only used one cup of wine - I used Chardonnay instead of the Zinfandel, thought the Zin would be too sweet. This was very nice and very flavorful
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches