My reviews (102)

Chocolate Bundt cake

Bundt cakes are American cakes named after the Bundt tins in which they are baked. The original Bundt cake tin was produced by a small company in the States, where they are still made today. If you have a Bundt tin and want a chocolate cake - this is your recipe!
Reviews (102)


24 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: lasfonds
This was my first bundt cake and as I didn't have any margarine I used all butter - the cake was delicious. Only problem was it didn't last long enough!
 
29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: puss2cats
Chocolatey, moist, easy and not terribly expensive. What more can you ask for? Instead of 250ml water I tried 150 mls chocolate Baileys and 100ml water. Wow! Also when preparing bundt tin I dusted with cocoa powder.
 
Comment:
13 May 2012
puss2cats said:
Slight problem in that my bundt tin was only 23cm and as a result the mixture flowed over the edge when cooking. Quick placement of tray underneath and we had warm chocolate biscuits while we waited for the main cake to cool. Moist, chocolatey, light and very very moreish. Waist line expanded!!!
 
06 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Madscotslass
This was so lovely....worth all the time painstakingly greasing and flouring my very intricately detailed bundt tin. Made one for a few family members for xmas and they were all impressed with how moist and delicious the cake was. Great recipe and easy to follow.
 
24 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Tullymore
This is a fantastic recipe. I made a fairy castle for my grandchildren for Christmas they haven't seen it yet but I am really excited. My tin was a couple of centimetres smaller and the cake rose through the ceiling but when it cooled it settled back down and I only needed to trim a little which I ate, it was wonderfully light and it came out of the tin like a dream. I have only used a batter cake recipe before for my bundt tin and I was worried about finding a sponge recipe big enough for the tin but no need to worry this is it. Now just to decorate it with real chocolate poured over the shape, piped butter icing and chocolate buttons. Thank you.
 
24 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: onlybettymouse
I'm only a novice baker and have not had much success with larger cakes but I gave this recipe a try and it worked out perfectly. It was very easy to make and looks and tastes great, my son accused me of buying it
 
01 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Katie245
I made this Bundt cake today and it was lovely, dense and moist (as you can see from my photo, my husband loved it and has already eaten two slices)! I didn't need quite so much milk, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Fortunately I had an old 25cm bundt tin which I brought back from the States in the 1970s and it was the perfect size for the mixture!
 
06 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Stratoula
Superb recipe! Made this cake today and followed to the letter. Am going to have to adjust the cooking time or heat I think for mine, as my cake came out burnt around edges. I also had far too much mixture, so filled a loaf tin with the cake mixture. Unfortunately this was burnt too Have tried the cake without the burnt bits and it tastes superb! Will try to bake the cake again and watch the cooking time and heat more closely. Highly recommend it, very yummy
 
15 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: julietape
Lovely dense and chocolately. Family loved it.
 
17 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: AnnBrough
very easy but very tasty love it.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches