My reviews (11)

Cottage Cheese Kolache

This is a fantastic Czech pastry, which is a little time consuming, but oh-so-worth it! A sweetened yeast dough is filled with a mixture of cottage cheese and raisins, then baked to perfection.
Reviews (11)


09 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: MissMissi
I loved it.. My grandmother (babka) used to make these, but she omitted the raisins and used a single pitted cherry instead.. DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Lidie
Its very rare that I give something 5 stars, but this one deserves it. I had lots of cottage cheese to use so I made one batch and that was eaten up so i decided to make another- will make again and again and again, also good to put jam on top if you run out of topping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JOYCEBAB
good old world flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: xtina
this recipe is awesome, but time consuming. there was some leftover dough, so i pureed blueberries and blackberries and made them into a filling. delicious!i had some cottage cheese about to go bad, so this recipe was the perfect way to use it. these have become a fast favorite in my house
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: mommy2ashlyn
LOVE this kolache recipe. My husband grew up with his great-grandmother who was full Czech, and he said that these were the closest that he'd ever had! Thank you so much for sharing! I can tell that I'll be making these often!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: iluvuma1
The dough turned out great and was tasty. I elected to make different toppings (a blueberry and farmer cheese as well as an apricot) The first batch burned badly on the bottom at this high of temperature. The second batch at 405 was slightly burnt in 10 minutes. I saw other comparable recipes that recommended cooking at 375 for 15 minutes. Think I'll try that next time. I ruined two double batches with this high temperature
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Barbie
This looks really close to my grandmothers' recipe. She came to America from Czechoslovakia in the late 1800's. She eventually modified her recipe from using shortening to using butter, it made the pastry a little softer in the end. The VERY BEST canned filling I have found to use is 'Solo' brand. I can't find it in local stores so I order it on line. In a pinch, tho, I buy canned pie filling and add a little sugar and it works just as well. And the 425 temp does seem a little high, I bake mine at 375 for 15-20 minutes then run a stick of butter around the edges when they come out of the oven. I add a crumble topping of butter and sugar on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Nadine
Family just loved these. It was worth the time and effort. Will be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2015
Very good but kept burning on me, luckily still tasted delicious. Pretty much a quick nut roll, not even close to the cookies my Czech Grandmas make, but still did taste good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: abbynicole
Not as good as Texas Kolaches but definitely delicious! I tried adding strawberry jelly and more flour to the filling for variety and it was good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches