My reviews (32)

Beef Bolognese sauce

This pasta sauce is packed full of flavour. Once you make this recipe, it will become a firm favourite. It takes a little while to make, but it's so worth it. Enjoy over your favourite pasta.
Reviews (32)


04 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: HEFTY
When I did the recipe I didn't really think about the ratio of nutmeg to basil in the ingedients. But the first bite I took I thought to myself. "Uhhhh, Christmas Bolognese?" I think that it should be 1 1/2 tsp of dried basil and a pinch of nutmeg. I would also suggest using a cheese grater to shred the carrot. Also the recipe needs to be more specific about what type of ham you should use. It says slices so I guess bacon maybe? No, I wouldn't use american bacon for a classic italian pasta sauce. I would used thinly sliced cured italian ham, more commonly referred to as prosciutto. I give only two stars because they need to tweak the proportions of the recipe and be more specific as to how much and what kind of ham to use.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: CAJUNGIRL39
I have been looking for a quick and delicious Bolognese sauce and this is definately it. I could have ate the whole pot myself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JULIAN SIMON
You might as well simply chop up some carrots, boil some pasta, then throw the carrots on top. This recipe should be called Dad's Carrot Meat Sauce. Yep, doublecheck those ingredients, and then do a double take: There are SEVEN carrots in this recipe. Four big thumbs-down from the family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Anindita Issa
It turned out really great with several modifications. You certainly don't have to make it this way; I just really preferred it. I used 8 carrots, a total of 9 oz of tomato paste, 1 medium to large sized white onion, 0.8 lbs of ham, and 2 lbs of ground buffalo. Also as recommended in other reviews I used 1-1/2 tbs of dried basil and a dash or two of nutmeg. I sliced the onions, carrots and ham and sauteed them in the butter until the carrots were soft. I then added the broth, tomato paste, lemon, spices. I browned the ground buffalo in a separate pan. I then took all the contents in the carrot/onion/ham pan and blended them in the blender. I put the blended contents back into the pan and added the ground meat with its juices. I prefer the only texture to be the ground meat and everything else to be a puree. At the very end I added about 2 tbs of cream. I'm not a big fan of heavy tomato based sauces as the tomatoes are too acidic for me and give me reflux. So this was an excellent alternative. If you do like more tomato flavor, you can always increase the tomato paste even more!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: MrsLexiSC
My family didn't care for the nutmeg flavor. Too many carrots. Wasn't that good...will try again w/ fewer carrots and no nutmeg.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: NADIA7
I didn't like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: AHN
WOW!!!! That was simple, flavorful, and one of the best homemade bolognese sauces I've ever come across! Many thanks for that recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: lefthead76
My husband, toddler, and I loved this sauce. It cooks up quickly and is delicious. I grated the carrots (we don't currently have a processor and it's easier for my young toddler to handle) and used 1 1/2 tsp basil and a pinch of nutmeg instead of what the recipe called for. I thought it wouldn't be 'tomato-y' enough (because of just the tomato paste), but it was just right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: OVIDIA
This recipe is really easy to put together and great for family gatherings (one pot of sauce for all!). The lemon zest adds a little zing to the bolognese sauce and the cream just makes it so yummy (I put in two tablespoons of cream).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: ABIGAILM
I searched for the perfect recipe for some time and this is definetly it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches