My reviews (20)

Crunchy ice cream crumbles

A great way of sprucing up a traditional bowl of ice cream. The crunchy crumbles are sweet, warmly spiced and incredibly moreish. Spoon over vanilla ice cream whilst still hot.
Reviews (20)


31 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: willbake4shoes
This is great! I read the recipe a little differently than the other reviewers because I didn't finely crush the graham crackers. I crumbled them into small to medium pieces and mixed them with the remaining ingredients. After baking, the graham cracker pieces were almost caramelized and delicious! I spread it out on a well greased cookie sheet and underbaked it a little. Next time I will definitely bake it for the full 15 minutes. I will also add a little more graham crackers because there is plenty of brown sugar mixture. The graham crackers are good enough just to snack on. I skimped a little on the salt but will use the full amount next time because the little bit of salt that you get every now and then is great with the sweetness of the brown sugar. This is a must try recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: PeppyGirl
Loved this recipe! This is a definite must try. Thanks for the quick, simple, delicious recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: j
Good recipe, but I like my instructions to be a little more specific so I minimize the chance of screwing things up. I finely crushed most of the crackers, leaving a few bits bigger for contrast. I shouldn't have dashed it with salt - I used salted butter and it seemed a little salty - my mistake. Also, I underbaked based on other reviews, and the fact that I pre-made it for later in the day, so I could reheat it before dessert. After initial prep, and before baking, it seemed a little sweet, so I added one more graham cracker. Go ahead - it can take it. I also don't think you need to sprinkle with the white sugar, but if that's your thing, go for it. It tastes like a very sweet graham cracker crust (key lime, cheesecake, etc.). I think next time I'll cut the sugar topping out, bake it lower and slower for more crunch, and throw them in a homemade s'mores ice cream or cheesecake ice cream recipe. That would be tasty, because most graham crackers dissolve when mixed into ice cream. Not bad!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: CookinginFL
This was a great way to use up an almost empty box of graham cracker crumbs! I doubled the recipe and used 1 cup of the graham cracker crumbs that you buy in a box. This topping was great over out homemade vanilla ice cream, but it didn't get too crunchy until after it had cooled completely. Still, I think it tastes 100 times better warm. To heat up the topping, simply heat it in your toaster oven in a small metal tray or on aluminum foil. This topping tasted a lot like the crumbly topping on many apple pies and also had a hint of a toffee flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: MOUSE8981
Awesome! I will definitely make this again! I stirred this into icecream and milk and made a "milkshake". The only change/ suggestion i would make for this recipe is to only bake it for 10 minutes instead of 15 . I baked it for the entire 15 and it tasted slightly burnt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Baker, Cookie Ranger
Yummy--be sure to not overcook. Had trouble making the topping last until put on the ice cream--even good plain!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: KRICKYR
A little too sweet, but so different from the usual ice cream toppings. It adds variety to an ice cream sundae bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: MRS. LOUDSHOES
Very nice. I've made it in the oven, as well as in a skillet on the stove, and it turned out well either way. I served it over "Five Ingredient Ice Cream" and it made a welcome change from our regular company desserts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: GINGERLY88
It didn't wow me so I don't think I will make it again unless I need a bunch of toppings if having people for ice cream. It was ok & I liked the crunch with the ice cream & that was about it. Served it over marshmallow ripple ice cream with chocolate saice for a s'mores like sundae
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Gina Curtis Rosebrugh
This was yummy for our ice cream social. I doubled the recipe and should have given it extra time. Received many compliments and people asked how I made it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches