My reviews (407)

Oat Muffins

There's nothing better than a simple, wholesome muffin. These are lightly sweetened and packed full of oats. For an even healthier muffin, try substituting some of the plain flour for wholemeal flour.
Reviews (407)


24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: pilarinfante
Good recipe. Could be better with a little more sugar. I'll try it next time. Nice texture.
 
23 May 2013
Reviewed by: Twinas
Nice, easy and tasty. I love how fluffy they are inside. I added a table spoon of golden syrup to add a bit more sweetness. Lovely recipe.
 
18 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: hannah_337
I added a tbsp honey because I have a sweet tooth, used self raising flour and got rid of the baking powder (as I can taste it quite strongly). That said, they were lovely, especially warm from the oven. I'd add a little more sugar for my tastes, but great recipe.
 
02 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: peanutpeanut
These muffins are delicious but not overly oaty. I think they are sweet enough just as the recipe is stated. The texture of the muffin reminds me of a crumpet. Yum!
 
22 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: memeiring1402
I loved it! I used half hazelnut milk and half regular and used 6T of raw brown sugar as well as half a tsp of cinnamon. They came out great and were perfect for me. I think my kids would prefer something sweeter, but this time I didn't make it for them 😁
 
03 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: 14093
This recipe is great, would definitely make again, just one question if I was to use Self Raising flour would I still need Baking Powder??
 
17 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: nikky82
Lovely recipe I added a little more sugar and less baking powder and used self-raising going to add blueberry's next time we make them
 
18 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: DawnBullen
This is a really easy recipe, I love the idea of replacing butter with milk. I agree with the other reviewers that it needs a bit more sweetness but I think it also needs either spice or raisins or something to make the eating more interesting, bit bland or an alternative to scones.
 
06 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Christine
I think many people misunderstand what a muffin is...the Otis Spunkmeyer muffins, for instance, are little more than cake disguised in a breakfast-friendly package. These Oatmeal muffins are more like what muffins started out to be. Simple (albeit somewhat bland) additions to a meal. I find that they are perfect in their simplicity, a wonderful base to a dollup of jam. The original recipe I had called for 1/4 to 1/2 cup of honey or molasses instead of sugar and was a nice 'non-jolting' way to begin the day. They are a good base to add fruit or nuts. I like banana with pecans; chopped apple and cinnamon; dates with extra molasses. Tailor them to your tastebuds, but don't mistake them for a cake-like muffin. These are much more substantial, and you won't be hungry in an hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2005
Reviewed by: TESS2004
I altered most of the ingredients for a healthier alternative, and they always turn out great! I use soy milk instead of regular milk (I use chocolate or vanilla flavoured, then I leave out the sugar in the recipe). I use applesauce instead of vegetable oil. Whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. And if I use plain soy milk, I use honey instead of the white sugar. Basically this adds soy protein and fiber, while cutting down on calories and fat. A delicious alternative to a store bought granola bar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches